Check out this video. At about the 15 minute mark I show how we do hit dice.
Posts made by GeneralHandGrenade
RE: India in Global War 1936 v3
The rules weren’t as clear as they should have been. The FEC doesn’t have a Home Country OF IT’S OWN. That hasn’t changed since V-2. It was probably written the way it was because ANZAC now has their own Home Country. What it means is the same as in V-2, That the FEC Home Country is Great Britain. They can absolutely purchase Minor Factories and place them as per the rules. They can’t upgrade them to Medium or Major Factories though because they aren’t in Great Britain.
RE: Latin America at War and China at War Expansions
The expansion rules don’t cancel the the OOB rules unless they specifically say so in the expansion you are playing.
The elite infantry would add 1 to the die roll.
Russia doesn’t have the same restrictions on lend lease that other nations do. They can start on turn one if they want to.
If you watch my recent China video, much of the rules have been explained not only by me but by the dude that invented the expansion set. When the set is officially released we are going to do another video together on that.
In regards to your first 2 questions, the Minor Nations could not possibly become aligned to the US or the USSR if they are not at war with a major power. The US could influence a Pro-Axis Nation to become neutral or a Neutral nation to become Pro-Allied, but it couldn’t influence a Pro-Allied Nation before at War with a major power because the only place to go from there is Aligned. The rules regarding Russia are different. They can only align a Neutral Nation. They don’t have the ability to move it towards them like the Axis and Allies do without aligning.
Falkland Islands. It clearly states right off the top that IF Argentina is Axis Aligned. That means that the Axis nation would have to be at war with a major power. It also states that you would re-roll if it is not Axis-Aligned.
Yes that would trigger the Allies ability to declare war on the Commintern. This is by no means a death sentence to the Russians. They still have to work together to defeat the Axis. For each side to go to war with each other half-way through the game would just be handing the win to the Axis. I would expect such a declaration to take place only in the last couple of turns in order to chase points or eliminate Russian points.
The Monroe Doctrine is significantly different in Version 3 than it was in Version 2. It had to be to allow for the Diplomacy expansion and now the Latin America expansion.
5.7 Monroe Doctrine: USA has a special doctrine in place known as the Monroe Doctrine which claims all North and South America as off limits to foreign colonization.
The Monroe doctrine allows USA to attack any foreign Major Power’s units that are bordering North or South American land zones indifferent to its own income level and without declaring war. USA is also allowed to attack captured land zones in North and South America.
US actions based on Monroe Doctrine does not trigger US peacetime income increases.
RE: Lend-Lease Clarification
@JustLuthor You can send any units that the sender are allowed to build, including advanced units.
One question that did come up though and the creator of the game answered;
A person wanted to know if Germany could send a heavy battleship to Italy even though Italy didn’t have that technology. The answer was yes they could but you couldn’t send a ship along the railroad as lend lease because it wouldn’t be possible. In other words, Germany would have to have a lend lease path in the water that would have taken it through several British ships and the Strait of Gibraltar. Given the state of war that existed, delivery would not have been possible through Gibraltar.
RE: V3 Coastal Artillery
@Chris_Henry My apologies if I didn’t explain it clearly enough.
If you move into the zone with a coastal artillery and a narrow crossing and stop your movement, then the coastal artillery gets no shots at you.
As long as you don’t do an amphibious landing in that zone the coastal artillery doesn’t get a shot.
If you move out of a sea zone that contains a coastal artillery and a narrow crossing the coastal artillery gets no shot.
The only way a coastal artillery gets a shot at passing ships that are not doing an amphibious assault is if they are passing through that sea zone with a narrow crossing on their way to another sea zone on the same turn.
The example that started this thread is in Sea Zone 25. If you look at that sea zone you can see that it narrows somewhere in the middle if it. In reality that’s a large body of water that narrows in a small section of it. If you passed through that section of the sea zone then you would be in range of the coastal artillery as you passed through that section. If your destination is that sea zone then you don’t necessarily have to park your ships in front of the coastal artillery. You could be north of it or south of it where there is no narrow crossing., out of range of the coastal artillery. For better or worse, that’s the intention of and proper interpretation of the rule. I hope that helps.
RE: V3 Coastal Artillery
@Chris_Henry I gave you the correct rule interpretation, Chris. I was speaking to the guy writing the rules at the same time I was posting my earlier reply. If you choose to change it make sure that you tell the others playing with you that you’re using a house rule and not an official rule. There’s nothing wrong with using house rules as long as your clear with everyone.
RE: Controlled Neutrals
@Chris_Henry The Reference Sheets as they are shown on the HBG site are not entirely correct. I went through them meticulously with the designer writing the final rules for V-3. The resulting 8 videos that I made were all of the Reference Sheets corrected with the final rules. I also made a video of Spain which doesn’t have a Reference Sheet with the final rules. That video series “Nations” with all of the correct rules can be found here;
I will begin on the rule book as soon as I can get a final copy (even if it isn’t released yet).
RE: Controlled Neutrals
The UK doesn’t control the Dutch. Until the Dutch are attacked by the Axis or Russia they are a neutral country. They do have special alignment conditions that they will be controlled and eventually aligned to the UK, etc. They also have the ability to declare war on a minor power at any time so they would be able to declare on the Dutch. In my opinion that would be a horrible idea though. First, they would have the 10 IPP penalty plus the -8 penalty to the American Peacetime Income. That doesn’t hurt the Axis at all, it is a huge bonus to them. That takes away one turn of British income and keeps the US out of the war for at least an extra turn. Japan still would have full access to attacking China without having lost a single unit yet. They’re right beside them within range even if the transports are halfway to the Dutch Islands. Germany gets more money to become a beast. How does this hurt Japan?
RE: V3 Coastal Artillery
I just verified with the rules guy. You would get up to 3 shots @3 at ships passing through a narrow crossing. If you move a ship to that zone or you are just sitting in that zone then there are no coastal artillery shots (unless of course they try to amphibiously assault the land zone). I assume that’s because you don’t have to cross in front of the narrow crossing to be in the same sea zone. Passing through the zone would mean you would have to pass through the narrow crossing.