Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

I have a question



  • We have this scenario:
    Germany has some sea units in a coastal zone near UK. England has no sea units at the time.

    In england’s turn, the player buys a battleship(or any other sea unit) and places it in the sea zone where germany has it’s units.

    In it’s turn, Unites states attacks that sea zone where there are both german and english units.

    Do england units participate in the battle?


  • Official Answers

    Welcome, Sabasanu!

    The UK battleship would not participate in the battle because it’s neither the UK’s turn nor is it being attacked.



  • Got it, thx. 🙂


  • 2017 2016 Customizer

    Am I missing something here? If Germany has navel units in UK’s SZ at the end of UK’s turn, the UK cannot place those navel units and loses them. If I remember correctly, that’s how it’s spelled out in the rule book and the revised eddition makes no mention that being changed. Sounds like a house rule to me.


  • Official Answers

    From page 22 of the Operations Manual:

    New sea units can enter play even in a hostile sea zone.  (No combat occurs because the conduct combat phase is over.)

    This was also an optional rule in Second Edition Classic (page 31).


  • 2017 2016 Customizer

    @Krieghund:

    From page 22 of the Operations Manual:

    New sea units can enter play even in a hostile sea zone.  (No combat occurs because the conduct combat phase is over.)

    This was also an optional rule in Second Edition Classic (page 31).

    Well whadaya know? I learn something new every day. Thanks for the information.
    Since this fall under the “optional” rules, does every player have to agree or do I just pull rank and say “So be it”. 😄


  • Official Answers

    Etiquette for optional rules vary from group to group, but the rulebook says that they may be used “if all players agree”.

    Just to be clear, this is only an optional rule in Classic.  In Revised, it’s a standard rule.


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 14
  • 16
  • 5
  • 3
  • 10
  • 14
  • 17
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games

20
Online

13.2k
Users

33.5k
Topics

1.3m
Posts