OK thx I must have been mistaken.
Posts made by Ranor
Actually the transport-sub-thing depends on the rule set. Under LHTR 2.0 the trn can load units and attack somewhere else, the one thing that is prevented by the sub are any non combat moves by that trn.
At the beginning of the combat move phase you may already have sea units in spaces containing
enemy units that were there at the start of your turn.
This situation will require you to do one of the following:
- Remain in the sea zone and conduct combat;
- Leave the sea zone, load units if desired, and conduct combat elsewhere;
- Leave the sea zone to load units and return to the same sea zone to conduct combat;
- Or, simply leave the sea zone and conduct no combat other than sailing out of harm’s way.
RE: Shuffling figs on friendly CVs in same sz?
LHTR 2.0 page 10
Aircraft carriers can move during this phase. Any fighters belonging to the aircraft carrier owner
launch before the carrier moves and move independently of the carrier.
Clearly the fighter must have been on the carrier before it could launch.
Guest fighters belonging to a friendly power on board your carrier must remain on board as cargo
if the carrier moves in combat. They cannot take part in combat and are destroyed if the carrier is
The fighters are definitly landed on board a specific carrier, cause they are destroyed if that specific carrier is lost in an offensive battle.
Whether it moves during the combat move or noncombat move phase, an aircraft carrier allows
friendly fighters to land on it in the sea zone where it finishes its move.
3 references that figs do land on carriers, not in seazones with carriers. Especially the second example proofs that they are landed on a specific carrier.
Some more references in the rules, that figs are landed on carriers, not seazones containing such:
on page 17 under the headline
Step 8: Concluding Combat
Air units can never capture a territory. If your attack force has only air units remaining, you can’t
occupy the territory you attacked, even if there are no enemy units remaining. Air units must
return to a friendly territory (fighters may also land on a friendly carrier). They do so during the
noncombat move phase. Until then they stay at the space where they fought.
on page 21 under the headline
Where Units Can Move
Once any fighter lands on a carrier, movement for BOTH pieces ends.
and on page 26 under the headline
Land on Aircraft Carriers: Fighters may be carried by aircraft carriers. Up to two fighters may
be on a friendly aircraft carrier at a time. A fighter must be launched from the carrier’s initial
position to participate in combat this turn. However, it may land on a carrier in the noncombat
move phase (even if withdrawing) or during any other noncombat move. (A fighter may not land
on a carrier during the carrier’s movement). Your aircraft carrier can move to a sea zone where
one of your fighters has ended its move (and in fact, it must do so if it is able) but cannot move
any farther that turn.
A fighter based on a defending carrier that is destroyed in combat must try to land. It must land
on a different friendly carrier in the same sea zone, move 1 space to a friendly territory or aircraft
carrier, or be destroyed. This movement occurs after all of the attacker’s combats have been
resolved and before the attacker’s noncombat movement phase begins.
Your fighter based on your attacking carrier launches before combat (even if it is not participating
in combat), and if it survives, can withdraw to a friendly territory or carrier within range. If any
fighter is not in an eligible landing space by the end of the noncombat move phase, it is
I hope this is sufficient to proof that figs land on carriers and furthermore specific carriers as the second example states.
RE: Japanesse attack on US mainland
The maneuvre discribed by switch can be looked at in this game.
In turn 10 Japan prepares for the invasion of US in hope of turning a lost game and in round 11 it pulls the trigger and builds another charge of trn.
It didn’t helped me to win the game but it was definitly something to keep in mind for future games. As the invasion was successful in so far as Japan could take WUS on my last turn and would have been able to hold it.
RE: Long Range Aircraft, all out attack UK Turn 1
As I said above I’m not that keen on sea lion myself. and if the conditions are unfavorable (like Russia took Ukr) than to hell with it.
Additionally I want to remind you that I would spend only 1 die on tech so germany can build new troops on G1 for 35 ipc.