Can air units move trough enemy territories if there are enemy air units?



  • I’m playing with a friend and we run up the following situation:

    My US Bomber can reach a couple of un-escorted transports… but only by flying over a massive Japanese fleet with 2 AC and all 4 fighters.

    We know that air units can fly over enemy occupied territories – rule book says so.
    But rule book’s picture describes bombers flying over tanks… not over a territory with enemy fighters

    We both agree that the movement is legal, since it’s not specifically forbidden by the rule book… but his complain is very soundable: all those zeros should be able to intercept my bombers (or other fighters if I had them)

    Is there any house-rule for that? any disambiguation for the manual?

    thanks



  • @Gallo:

    I’m playing with a friend and we run up the following situation:

    My US Bomber can reach a couple of un-escorted transports… but only by flying over a massive Japanese fleet with 2 AC and all 4 fighters.

    We know that air units can fly over enemy occupied territories – rule book says so.
    But rule book’s picture describes bombers flying over tanks… not over a territory with enemy fighters

    We both agree that the movement is legal, since it’s not specifically forbidden by the rule book… but his complain is very soundable: all those zeros should be able to intercept my bombers (or other fighters if I had them)

    Is there any house-rule for that? any disambiguation for the manual?

    thanks

    Well if you ask me i would say they can and should.If the case is that they can not then why should Fighters beable to defend Territories.

    On another note i have alwase wonderd….when Fighters attack a territory that does not have any Fighters or AA guns in it and just Ground forces,do the Fighters attacking get to just keep rollin tell they have killed all the Infintry/Tanks?.I can not tell you how maney times me and my fellow A&A freaks have run into a situation where the Germans have these air forces attack a USSR territory with no AA or Fighters.So my queation is do they get to kill all the Reds or do they have to turn back after one round?


  • Official Q&A

    @Gallo:

    We both agree that the movement is legal, since it’s not specifically forbidden by the rule book… but his complain is very soundable: all those zeros should be able to intercept my bombers (or other fighters if I had them)

    Fighters in territories or sea zones being flown over cannot intercept planes.  Only planes in the territory or sea zone actually being attacked may defend.

    @Cowboybob:

    On another note i have alwase wonderd….when Fighters attack a territory that does not have any Fighters or AA guns in it and just Ground forces,do the Fighters attacking get to just keep rollin tell they have killed all the Infintry/Tanks?.I can not tell you how maney times me and my fellow A&A freaks have run into a situation where the Germans have these air forces attack a USSR territory with no AA or Fighters.So my queation is do they get to kill all the Reds or do they have to turn back after one round?

    Ground units defend normally when attacked by fighters and/or bombers.  The attacking air units can stick around for as many rounds as they like, or until they’re shot down, whichever comes first.



  • @Krieghund:

    @Gallo:

    We both agree that the movement is legal, since it’s not specifically forbidden by the rule book… but his complain is very soundable: all those zeros should be able to intercept my bombers (or other fighters if I had them)

    Fighters in territories or sea zones being flown over cannot intercept planes.  Only planes in the territory or sea zone actually being attacked may defend.

    @Cowboybob:

    On another note i have alwase wonderd….when Fighters attack a territory that does not have any Fighters or AA guns in it and just Ground forces,do the Fighters attacking get to just keep rollin tell they have killed all the Infintry/Tanks?.I can not tell you how maney times me and my fellow A&A freaks have run into a situation where the Germans have these air forces attack a USSR territory with no AA or Fighters.So my queation is do they get to kill all the Reds or do they have to turn back after one round?

    Ground units defend normally when attacked by fighters and/or bombers.  The attacking air units can stick around for as many rounds as they like, or until they’re shot down, whichever comes first.

    Thanks


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

67
Online

14.0k
Users

34.4k
Topics

1.4m
Posts