I think it’s pretty clear how AA guns work from reading their unit profile in the Rulebook. However, I agree that the defense value listed could be a bit misleading. On the other hand, this value has been in place since Revised (we playtesters are so awful that we can actually go back in time and screw things up in the past :roll:), and to my knowledge this is the first time that this question has ever been asked. Maybe it would be better if the defense value value were listed as “Special”.
As for ICs, they’re defense is “NA” because they never fire under any circumstances, which is not true of AA guns.
AA guns actualy worked that way in classic as well 😛
Even if those extra Fighters survive the battle and then have to crash into the sea?
Interesting stuff! 🙂
The thing is, you don’t know if those fighters will have to crash into the sea. They may end up on non-combat move without a valid landing spot but when you perform your combat moves there’s always a statistical change that the carrier will kill the 100 battleships (even though it should be about the same as you de-materializing while reading this message and materializing on the next room) thus the combat move satisfies the rule of a valid landing spot (regardless of how improbable it might be).
Combat moving 2 extra fighters to a battle goes against that same rule because there’s simply no possibility for those fighters to land during non-combat as they are moved (unless a carrier magically pops up out of nowhere into the middle of the battle board - odds for that happening should be the same as you teleporting yourself to another room) .