G40 Tourney Discussion/question(s)


  • @Karl7:

    Supposition:

    If you move fighters into a far flung combat and declare that they will land on existing carrier in its non-combat move, but the carrier must move though another combat zone which the attacker loses and is still hostile on the carriers non-combat move, then, if I read the rule right, the carrier must still be move and be destroyed.  See p. 27, Europe 40 Rule.

    Do I have this right?

    Thanks

    Karl

    Carriers are never destroyed during non-combat moves.

    A carrier must move to where it has to in order to land planes that were launched with it as an intended landing site, you may not move the carrier elsewhere on a whim and crash the planes.

    However, if you fail to clear the required sea zone and your carrier is unable to reach its intended landing site, the fighters crash, and then the carrier may move elsewhere if I understand the rules.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @Karl7:

    Supposition:

    If you move fighters into a far flung combat and declare that they will land on existing carrier in its non-combat move, but the carrier must move though another combat zone which the attacker loses and is still hostile on the carriers non-combat move, then, if I read the rule right, the carrier must still be move and be destroyed.  See p. 27, Europe 40 Rule.

    Do I have this right?

    Thanks

    Karl

    The last two answers are correct, I am only responding to give official response for the tournament specifically.

    As long as you attack the sea zone that must be traversed to recover the fighters, you may assume you will win and declare that the carrier is moving during Non-Combat Moves to recover the fighters.  It could be 1 submarine vs 3 loaded carriers, 8 destroyer, 1 battleship and 2 cruisers, and you could still assume you win. (There is a mathematical chance, albeit a very slim one.)

    Since no combat is done during Non-Combat, if you lose, you are barred from moving the carrier to recover your fighters and the fighters are lost.  You are then free to move the carrier(s) wherever you like, or nowhere if you prefer.


  • Also you cannot use a planned retreat as a valid landing space for aircraft. Just so you know.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @TheDefinitiveS:

    Also you cannot use a planned retreat as a valid landing space for aircraft. Just so you know.

    Aircraft dont retreat, they disengage and finish their movement during Non-Combat Movement.


  • Sigh……planned retreat as a valid landing space, as in you cant CM an Aircraft carrier then retreat it so Aircraft have somewhere to land.


  • Zcion has agreed to start up jenifer.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Zcion, i rock = Game 6, Zcion has Axis.


  • I have a question.  I am reading the rules and just covered China.  Is China still run at the same time as the US so that if one takes a territory, the other cannot land aircraft there, and the combat moves can be done in whichever order the allied player desires, or are they run completely separately now and the USA has to move before China?


  • Us does full move purchase deploy yadda yadda and then china does its move. So china can land planes wherever the us conquered. They are completely separate.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @TerrorBane:

    Us does full move purchase deploy yadda yadda and then china does its move. So china can land planes wherever the us conquered. They are completely separate.

    Correct.  In global 1940 America does their whole turn up to and including collect income, then China starts their turn as a sovereign nation.  Just as England could land fighters on territories taken by the Americans, so too can the Chinese fighter land on soil taken by America.

  • 2007 AAR League

    I guess it would be more like land cleared by the USA for China as China’s 1 plane is limited to only certain territories  :-D

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @NoMercy:

    I guess it would be more like land cleared by the USA for China as China’s 1 plane is limited to only certain territories  :-D

    All of China + Burma and Hong Kong yes.


  • Karl7 wins Game 4.

    Map.

    TDS_vs_Karl7_17bRus.AAM

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @TheDefinitiveS:

    Karl7 wins Game 4.

    Map.

    Updated.


  • I have a question.  On the turn that Japan declares war on UK/Anzac, can they move through zones that have UK or Anzac or US destroyers during the combat movement phase, or do those zones turn hostile the moment the DOW occurs and before the combat move phase?

    Cheers


  • DOW happens at start of turn so all szs with your new enemy are hostile. You can ignore szs with transports and subs (ie you can choose not to fight them and sail right past them) but all other ships become hostile zones where battle must occur if you enter them (unless you are entering the sz with a sub and they do not have a destroyer in that case you may sail right by.


  • @TerrorBane:

    DOW happens at start of turn so all szs with your new enemy are hostile. You can ignore szs with transports and subs (ie you can choose not to fight them and sail right past them) but all other ships become hostile zones where battle must occur if you enter them (unless you are entering the sz with a sub and they do not have a destroyer in that case you may sail right by.

    and if japan declares war on UK or Anzac, they are also immediately at war with the USA, and a US destroyer would block Japanese combat moves right?


  • So they become hostile before combat movement phase… So if you are declaring war on anzac and uk you can’t move through their sz… Hey cmdr, when you make an unprovoked dow against anzac and uk do Us warships immediately become hostile szs too or does that wait until us turn?


  • Unless Japan declares war on the US at the same time that they do on UK/ANZAC, then they are not at war with the US.  The Japanese can, therefore, ignore US ships during CM and combat.  If the Japanese attack on UK/ANZAC was unprovoked, then the US has the option of a DOW on Japan.  By then, Japan’s turn is over.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @LuckyLindy:

    @TerrorBane:

    DOW happens at start of turn so all szs with your new enemy are hostile. You can ignore szs with transports and subs (ie you can choose not to fight them and sail right past them) but all other ships become hostile zones where battle must occur if you enter them (unless you are entering the sz with a sub and they do not have a destroyer in that case you may sail right by.

    and if japan declares war on UK or Anzac, they are also immediately at war with the USA, and a US destroyer would block Japanese combat moves right?

    No.  Japan may choose not to declare war on the United States but on Russia, England and Australia (or any part thereof.)  America may then declare war on their turn, but for the rest of Japan’s round, American warships are still neutral.

    @LuckyLindy:

    I have a question.  On the turn that Japan declares war on UK/Anzac, can they move through zones that have UK or Anzac or US destroyers during the combat movement phase, or do those zones turn hostile the moment the DOW occurs and before the combat move phase?

    Cheers

    They cannot move THROUGH British and Australian warships, but warships that start in the same sea zone as Japanese ships do not stop the Japanese in anyway.  Japan may even load transports in such sea zones and move to conduct combat elsewhere.

Suggested Topics

  • 138
  • 5
  • 70
  • 89
  • 98
  • 126
  • 29
  • 124
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

26

Online

17.8k

Users

40.5k

Topics

1.8m

Posts