I bring this to the attention of Krieg (if it hasn’t already been noted).
Please could it be possible for the rulebook for the upcoming reprint to undergo the following amendment:
The 2nd sentence of the 2nd paragraph under ‘Transports’ on page 31 should read: “Air or sea units (other than Aircraft Carriers or Transports) ending their Combat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy transports automatically destroy those transports.”
Also, on page 28 of the rulebook under ‘Aircraft Carriers’, it should specifically state that these units have no attack value and therefore cannot fire in the attacking units’ fire steps. It may also be of value to reiterate that they also do not have the capability to destroy lone/defenceless Transports.
It looks like Germany can take 3 of those British fleet stacks and possibly 4 ( if it wants to lose planes) and it can buy a carrier and protect its Baltic fleet because UK will only have 3 fighters in range of the BB, CA and AP off Denmark.
I suggest Germany buys the carrier if it does this attack. This forces British to build a fleet or move the carrier group to UK.
Depends on how much german air lives if the UK should go after that fleet or not. Germany can easily replace her lost boats, the UK cannot, and honestly I would be tickled if the UK put its entire fleet out there like that. Personally though I would go 1 DD, 2 SS, 2 inf, 1 art. Put the subs in the baltic. As long as a good amount of air survived G1 the UK will be between a rock and a hard place navy wise.
This is my first post in this very excellent forum.
My question is :
Is the kamikaze attack a defensive attack ?
As far as I read the rules the attack must be announced right after the Allies have moved surface ships ( not transports ) into a seazone with a kamikaze symbol.
One of my friends thinks it has to happen on japans turn since it is an attack.
If I am right does this mean that u can use the japanese kamikaze attack in a navalbattle where you are attacked ?
kamikaze is a result allied movement into one of the marked kamikaze zones. it takes place on the allies turn. as long as the criteria is met……
You need attacked neutrals joining some side or some short of “dungeon master” player that moves the neutrals. A dummie neutral that can only defend is a new edition of that joke I call ACME wall 😐
They are going to join some side or we would get neutral pieces … the other solution would be a victorious defending neutral would recieve magically its starting units after the attack. Also odd … the best and simpler solution is joining the whole neutral power to opposite side that attacked in first place
As for neutrals caring only for inner affairs, not true: you can take example on Spain, that was about to join axis in late 1940. Also South America, that probably will start neutral, needs some rule to join allies as they did in real world. Switzerland needs some monster defense or simply being impassable or we are going to have it invaded all the games as TripleA AI does :roll:
That’s easy - trying to apply rules from other A&A games to this one. This game is completely different from every other A&A game. You need to try not to read in rules from other games that aren’t in this one. Just try to pretend that this game doesn’t say “Axis & Allies” on it when you read them.
And that is exactly correct (emphasis added.) Same goes for Battle of the Bulge.
The biggest specific source of confusion though is the combat system mostly from thinking that it works like other A&A games instead of being divided into phases with random casulaties.
Second would be submarines mostly from trying to apply sub rules/abilities and destroyer rules/abilities from other games. Also though because subs choose a target to attack while other casualties are random.
But just take the rulebook as having nothing in common with any other game and confusion and mistakes will be kept to a minimum.
I personally don’t like using marshalling cards/task force markers, preferring to keep all my units on the board (sometimes it gets too crowded, obviously). The bigger board should allow enough space, and I guess that’s why they didn’t include any type of markers for large armies/navies, aside from being cheap.
National Advantages. NA’s. They are optional rules in the OOB rule book that give a different ability to certain units or make an exception to certain rules depending on the country. I haven’t really played with them but it is said that they add some variety to the game.