All of this is making me so bummed this pandemic is making me unable to play this game!!!
Posts made by Chris_Henry
RE: Review of my first played Global War 1936 V. 3 game
RE: Review of my first played Global War 1936 V. 3 game
Kind of echoing @Noneshallpass here, but I think you can make the ships work in different ways. As he pointed out, a lot of people will paint the tips different colors to differentiate, or you could use different color chips. I’m more like you two though and like a unique sculpt.
I think you can find most of these on their site. Look at the 3D printed units section too. Some nations have battlecruisers there. True, you’d need to paint them, but their there.
You could also get a little creative. Use the neutral nation cruiser as a “light cruiser” if needed, and use the A&A OOB cruisers as your Heavy Cruisers. Maybe use the OOB battleships as your battlecruisers, and buy the HBG battleship types for your fast and regular battleships? Just thinking out loud.
I’m with you of course on South America. But as @Noneshallpass said, it’s based in history, and there wasn’t much happening there. I will say though that the Latin America expansion is the way to go to get them in. I plan to use that every game for the very reasons you mention, I want to get that part of the world in the game!
As for the USSR, I kind of get what you’re saying. But at the same time, there’s a lot for them to do. The Chinese and Spanish Civil wars will certainly be fun to play. And you of course will need to be prepared as the USSR. Border clashes with the Japanese are in play too.
Don’t forget that the USSR can attack minor nations starting July 1939. So while that won’t bring their income up, it’s still something to do if the Axis have left them alone.
The maximum time the USSR might spend at 8 IPP is 6 turns. So, it’s not too crazy I suppose, especially since those early turns will go a bit quicker with less combat movement and battles to play out. But if the Axis are going out of their way to make sure the USSR doesn’t increase at all until July 1939, I’d be surprised to hear that is fully a good thing for the Axis!
I think there’s enough side stuff happening to keep the Comintern player involved, but maybe that’s just me!
RE: Winter War
I think “Nome” is a type and they meant “Location Name” (probably a note from the draft of the rules that got missed in final editing).
So, that might have been a misprint from the V2 game. In V2, Finland had Elite Infantry that were 3/5 infantry in the standard game. In looking at the V3 standard game setup now, it only lists regular Infantry for Finland in the start. So in short, I can’t say for sure what should happen. I think if you go by the Neutral set up charts for V3, you need to assume that the “Elite Infantry” mentioned here are really just regular infantry.
So standard game has: 4 INF in Karjala; 1 INF and 1 Militia in Southern Finland; 1 Coastal Defense Ship in SZ 16.
I think for the expansion you change this to: 5 Utti Jaeger, 1 INF in Karjala (converting 3 INF to Utti Jaeger, and adding 2 Utti Jaeger); 1 Utter Jaeger, 1 Militia in Southern Finland (converting 1 INF to Utti Jaeger); 1 Utti Jaeger in Lapland; 1 Coastal Defense Ship in SZ 16 (I don’t think the expansion means to deny Finland it’s naval ship when it says “replace all Finnish forces”. I think that meant land forces.).
But maybe will come along and correct me!
RE: Manchuko-Puppets of the Empire
I think the only difference in border clash rules between the standard game and the expansion is that in the expansion both sides may take either Northern Manchuria or Chita from the other (as well as the Mongolian portion). The rest of the rules in that regard should remain the same I believe. Meaning yes, it’s just one round of combat each time. I don’t think it’s supposed to be “easy” to take the territory from each other!
To your second question, I guess I’m not too sure. My guess is that you would not lose 1 IPP a turn if that happened. I think until you reach wartime income, you can’t get less than what you have. But I wouldn’t call that answer official.
I think the TBD part is just a typo. I think that’s just showing they have the same stats (except cost/build ability). I’m sure a TBD could be a great substitute to use in your games, though you’d probably want to be sure they can be shown to be different in the sense that .you don’t accidentally move it in open water thinking it’s a TBD or something!
RE: American Peacetime Income Increase
The remaining Dutch territories would have been converted to British territories at the end of the non-combat movement phase on the German turn. America would get the 5D12.
That’s a great point you mention, GHG. Something That should probably be taken into account a bit more as an Axis player than one might initially think!
RE: Surrounded Cities and What's up with Naval base?
It just means that, if there’s a naval facility that comes into play to be able to surround, you need to do both/all.
In order to be surrounded, a city mush have damaged Air bases, damaged or blockaded Naval bases, and all land zones surrounding to be occupied.
So in your example, Tokyo is surrounded when the USA controls Honshu (the territory around Tokyo), and all Tokyo air bases have been damaged, and all naval bases have been damaged or blockaded via SZ 56.
Hope that helps!
RE: Spanish civil war
Hahaha, Bad Hoshi.
Yeah, sorry, my quote there was only in reference to your original hypothetical after we established this wasn’t possible, @insaneHoshi! My point was only if you could have attacked (which again, you cannot), it would maybe have been a risky idea!
RE: Spanish civil war
@AlphaAeffchen Yeah, I hear you on #2 above. To the untrained player, that rule isn’t really definitive. It doesn’t explicitly say the Allies cannot attack only what they can do, which it probably should to be more clear. People that play and come here for answers and discuss with GHG can get a lot of clarifications. But if someone came into this game cold, that’s a totally reasonable question to need an answer to!
RE: Spanish civil war
I think you are playing Version 2, right? My assumption is based on your VP question, as that VP condition changed a bit in Version 3. Regardless, I think my answers are all relatively the same, even though I don’t have the Version 2 rules in front of me.
So, in Version 2, the winner of the Spanish Civil war gets that VP. Doesn’t matter if all of Spain is overrun by another power later on. The winner of the war gets a point the moment the war is won. Version 3 changed the rule to lump it in to the Worldwide Communism rule. So the rule is almost the same for the Comintern in that the IPP territory in Spain would count for them if they win the war, albeit they’d have to hold on to it by games end.
So, you might be misunderstanding the rule a bit too. First, the game starts with the Spanish Civil War happening already. So your thought of the Spanish Republicans aligning to the Comintern is incorrect in that regard. The Spanish Civil War is fought internally until one side wins or certain things happen. In Version 2, if the Spanish Civil War is still happening once Germany and the USSR go to war, both factions align to their respective powers, even though the war isn’t resolved. If the war is resolved before Germany and the USSR go to war, then the winning Spanish faction is just a controlled minor power of the victor until it’s attacked or other conditions happen. In Version 3, it looks like this rule changed a bit. the Spanish factions stay as controlled neutral minors unless attacked later on.
To your example of the British attacking, I’m 99.9% sure you cannot do that. I don’t have the Version 2 rules handy, so can’t say with certainty. But I believe no one can interfere in Version 2 outside of Germany, Italy, and the USSR sending Lend Lease. The British could attack a Nationalist Spain that won the Civil War, but couldn’t help while the war is ongoing. That’s if I’m remembering the Version 2 rules properly.
In Version 3, it’s not quite as clear, but I think is implied. The rulebook at 13.1 Spanish Civil War under Participation says: "Spanish factions are controlled Minor Powers that cannot declare war on other nations. Germany and USSR are not at war with Spanish forces and cannot attack Spanish units or land zones (or vice versa). So, this specifies directly that Germany and the USSR cannot directly fight in the Spanish Civil War. I think it’s implied that no other nations may attack either while the war is ongoing, but I certainly could be mistaken there.
Besides all that, I’d think twice on your strategy of “England to manipulate the war in favour of the Comintern”. I only say that because, as the Allied player, the UK would potentially be taking a VP away from ally France. France has a VP of Eliminate Communism, which reads: “Score 1 victory objective if the Comintern does not Possess any land zone adjacent to French Home Country. A neutral Republican Spain counts as Comintern land zones.” So, if you help the Republican’s win, France would have Communists knocking on the back door!
RE: Radar facilities
@sleipnersm38 Hmm well shoot. I don’t have the V2 rules handy. I have them printed, but now it looks like HBG took them down from their site now that they’ve retired it.
I didn’t think that rule had really changed though? I must be mistaken if you’re seeing a cost for radar in the V2 game.
If that’s the case, I think you just need to go off of what the Expansion Rules would say.
That, or if you’re unsure, maybe you have to pay the standard cost of 5 IPP to build a radar, but the British can pay an additional 1 IPP to “upgrade” a radar to a chain radar facility? Just a thought!
I can check back in once I get my hands on the V2 rules again. Over at my dad’s place, and haven’t been able to go there since this virus hit.