Placing planes on carriers in non combat



  • Can anyone tell me where in the rules it says that you can place planes on an aircraft carrier built in the place units phase from an adjacent land territory?

    Thanks.



  • Nowhere.

    Fighters are no longer placed on carrier moving from an adjacent land territory during deployment phase. (This rule has been already changed in LHTR).

    You have to move existing fighters during NCM to the sea zone whre you want to build the AC and leave them there waiting for the carrier to be built.

    Another opions is to build new fighters right on a carrier in a sea zone adjacent to a territory, containing one of yours IC. The carrier may be an existing one or a new carrier built in the same turn.



  • @Romulus:

    You have to move existing fighters during NCM to the sea zone whre you want to build the AC and leave them there waiting for the carrier to be built.

    But to quote the rules…

    “Aircraft that cannot move to an eligible landing space by the end of the Noncombat Move phase are destroyed.”


  • Official Answers

    Yes, and directly above that the rules define eligible landing space, which includes “a sea zone that is adjacent to an industrial complex you own if you will be placing an aircraft carrier that you previously purchased in that zone.”



  • @Krieghund:

    Yes, and directly above that the rules define eligible landing space, which includes “a sea zone that is adjacent to an industrial complex you own if you will be placing an aircraft carrier that you previously purchased in that zone.”

    Ah I see it 🙂 Thanks.



  • Thanks for the clarification.


  • Moderator

    @Krieghund:

    Yes, and directly above that the rules define eligible landing space, which includes “a sea zone that is adjacent to an industrial complex you own if you will be placing an aircraft carrier that you previously purchased in that zone.”

    @Craig:

    @General:

    @Romulus:

    You have to move existing fighters during NCM to the sea zone whre you want to build the AC and leave them there waiting for the carrier to be built.

    But to quote the rules…

    “Aircraft that cannot move to an eligible landing space by the end of the Noncombat Move phase are destroyed.”

    A SZ adjacent to a territory with an IC is an eligible landing space, as long as you have an AC that will be placed there during the Mobilize Units phase.

    From the rules (Pg. 11, Phase 5: Noncombat Move, Where Units Can Move):
    Air Units: An air unit must end its move in an eligible landing space. Bombers and fighters may land in any territory that was friendly at the start of your turn.

    Only fighters may land in a sea zone with a friendly carrier present. A landing spot must be available on the carrier.

    Additionally:

    • A fighter may land in a sea zone that is adjacent to an industrial complex you own if you will be placing an aircraft carrier that you previously purchased in that zone.
    • Once any fighter lands on a carrier, movement for BOTH units end.
    • You must have a carrier move, remain in place, or be placed (new carriers only) to pick up a fighter that would end its noncombat movement in a sea zone. You cannot deliberately move any air unit out of range of a potential safe landing space.

    Aircraft that cannot move to an eligible landing space by the end of the Noncombat Move phase are destroyed.

    Neither bombers nor fighters may land in any territory that was hostile at the start of your turn, including any territory that was just captured by you this turn.

    Craig

    That’s what I get for taking too long, Krieghund swoops in and scoops me!

    Does this allow a 5th move for a ftr?

    Example,
    Ger ftr starts in Bul, moves one to fight in Epl, then in Non-Com moves its remaining 3 to Fra.  Ger places AC in Sz 7 (had IC on Fra).  Can the Ftr then be placed on the AC?


  • Official Answers

    No.  The fighter must end its movement in the sea zone in which the carrier will be placed.  It may not be moved onto the carrier from the IC’s territory during mobilization.


  • Moderator

    Thanks.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 4
  • 13
  • 7
  • 3
  • 3
  • 4
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

46
Online

13.6k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts