• Hi everyone. I have been playing 1941 a couple of times. The problem is the playing time.
    The rulebook says 90 to 120 minutes. Well the first time we played it took over 6 hours to get finished.
    The next timed we played, it took nearly 6 hours. What are we doing wrong? Some playing advice would be great.
    Thanks in advice.

Staale

• How aggressive are you playing?  Also, what are the victory conditions that you are playing towards?

• I´m a complete beginner in playing a&a. So I´m perhaps not very aggressive.
    We are playing with 2 capitol victory condition.

• @generalsteel77:

Hi everyone. I have been playing 1941 a couple of times. The problem is the playing time.
    The rulebook says 90 to 120 minutes. Well the first time we played it took over 6 hours to get finished.
    The next timed we played, it took nearly 6 hours. What are we doing wrong? Some playing advice would be great.
    Thanks in advice.

Staale

What were you drinking?  Seriously, the same thing happened when my wife gave me Axis & Allies D-Day for Christmas two years ago……we sat down to play after a couple of ‘egg nogs’ in the morning and a couple of glasses of wine with lunch - maybe not such a good idea!  Of course D-Day is card driven and the cards played through in the correct order, not shuffled as we did! :roll:

• yeah, i agree. if you build infantry and play defensively, the game can last forever….

Has anyone on this forum played this version of the game frequently to offer any thoughts?

• '17 '16

Did you ever try some “strafing” tactics between Russia and Germany?

The idea is to launch an attack on a weaker territory (with a few Tanks) with a good offensive punch (Tank and planes) with enough Infantry to at least make 1 combat round (or more) and retreat.
    Here, you don’t want to take any territory. It is more a test for luck.
    If you get lucky in the first rounds, you can kill more units than you loose, the sooner, the better.