Carriers



  • Example; The U.S. have two AC’S with two fighters each two seazones away from hawaii, A japanese sub hits one with a suprise strike. Can i send the two fighters from the unhit AC to hawaii and have the two that are stuck in the air land on the healthy AC.

    And how many spaces can the stuck fighters move to land safely. I heard 1 and if thats the case that means if there is no island or another AC in THAT seazone the planes die?



  • No; planes can only land 1 space away. That is, they can land on an island in the sea zone, a land territory bordering that seazone, another carrier in that seazone, or a carrier in an adjacent sea zone. If there are no spots within 1 space, the planes die.



  • Thanks Calvin. This is a very helpful site.



  • i wonder: if in the next SZ there is a full AC and an island, can the fighters of that AC move (and land on the island) to make space for the first 2 fighters, so that those can land on that AC?

    (hope my question isn’t too lousy phrased, and i’m guessing the answer will be no)



  • @special:

    i wonder: if in the next SZ there is a full AC and an island, can the fighters of that AC move (and land on the island) to make space for the first 2 fighters, so that those can land on that AC?

    (hope my question isn’t too lousy phrased, and i’m guessing the answer will be no)

    I don’t think you can do that.


  • Official Answers

    No, you can’t.


  • Customizer

    If two US carriers were attacked by a Japanese submarine, and there were no US destroyers present, the fighters on the carrier that got damaged would not be lost in the air.  They would be stuck on the deck of the carrier until the carrier could get to a friendly naval base for repairs. 
    Since planes can not hit submarines without a friendly destroyer present, if a submarine attacks a carrier there is no reason for the planes to take off from the carrier.  They would simply have to withstand the attack aboard the carrier like cargo on transports in hopes that the carrier’s own anti-sub defenses can get the sub or the sub breaks off the attack.
    Therefore, you would not lose your planes if the carrier only took one hit. 
    However, say your carrier is next to a friendly island or coast and gets attacked by a pack of subs that gets two hits on that carrier.  Then you would lose your planes even though they are just 1 space away because they never took off from the carrier because planes can’t hit submarines.  That part sucks.



  • @knp7765:

    If two US carriers were attacked by a Japanese submarine, and there were no US destroyers present, the fighters on the carrier that got damaged would not be lost in the air.  They would be stuck on the deck of the carrier until the carrier could get to a friendly naval base for repairs. 
    Since planes can not hit submarines without a friendly destroyer present, if a submarine attacks a carrier there is no reason for the planes to take off from the carrier.  They would simply have to withstand the attack aboard the carrier like cargo on transports in hopes that the carrier’s own anti-sub defenses can get the sub or the sub breaks off the attack.
    Therefore, you would not lose your planes if the carrier only took one hit. 
    However, say your carrier is next to a friendly island or coast and gets attacked by a pack of subs that gets two hits on that carrier.  Then you would lose your planes even though they are just 1 space away because they never took off from the carrier because planes can’t hit submarines.  That part sucks.

    All of that is wrong. The planes are always in the air and thus if the CV is damaged, they have to land within 1 space or die.



  • @calvinhobbesliker:

    @knp7765:

    If two US carriers were attacked by a Japanese submarine, and there were no US destroyers present, the fighters on the carrier that got damaged would not be lost in the air.  They would be stuck on the deck of the carrier until the carrier could get to a friendly naval base for repairs. 
    Since planes can not hit submarines without a friendly destroyer present, if a submarine attacks a carrier there is no reason for the planes to take off from the carrier.  They would simply have to withstand the attack aboard the carrier like cargo on transports in hopes that the carrier’s own anti-sub defenses can get the sub or the sub breaks off the attack.
    Therefore, you would not lose your planes if the carrier only took one hit. 
    However, say your carrier is next to a friendly island or coast and gets attacked by a pack of subs that gets two hits on that carrier.  Then you would lose your planes even though they are just 1 space away because they never took off from the carrier because planes can’t hit submarines.  That part sucks.

    All of that is wrong. The planes are always in the air and thus if the CV is damaged, they have to land within 1 space or die.

    Calvin is correct.  The only times planes are considered in Cargo on a CV is when they are your allies planes, at which point they are not in the air until that players turn.



  • @Rorschach:

    @calvinhobbesliker:

    @knp7765:

    If two US carriers were attacked by a Japanese submarine, and there were no US destroyers present, the fighters on the carrier that got damaged would not be lost in the air.  They would be stuck on the deck of the carrier until the carrier could get to a friendly naval base for repairs. 
    Since planes can not hit submarines without a friendly destroyer present, if a submarine attacks a carrier there is no reason for the planes to take off from the carrier.  They would simply have to withstand the attack aboard the carrier like cargo on transports in hopes that the carrier’s own anti-sub defenses can get the sub or the sub breaks off the attack.
    Therefore, you would not lose your planes if the carrier only took one hit. 
    However, say your carrier is next to a friendly island or coast and gets attacked by a pack of subs that gets two hits on that carrier.  Then you would lose your planes even though they are just 1 space away because they never took off from the carrier because planes can’t hit submarines.  That part sucks.

    All of that is wrong. The planes are always in the air and thus if the CV is damaged, they have to land within 1 space or die.

    Calvin is correct.  The only times planes are considered in Cargo on a CV is when they are your allies planes, at which point they are not in the air until that players turn.

    To clarify that, allied planes are only cargo if the carrier is attacking. If the carrier is defending, allied planes can still try to land within one space.



  • They can try to land or they have to land?



  • @RedHunter:

    They can try to land or they have to land?

    They can try to land (though I would think the controlling player would want them to).  If it’s a conflict between two nations as to who lands (2 airplanes need to land, only space for one) that those players can’t resolve I guess the attacking Japanese player would decide (because normally if the allied defenders can’t agree the attacker chooses casualties)?



  • @RedHunter:

    They can try to land or they have to land?

    If they can land, then land them.  If they cannot, they are removed as a casualty.  I couldn’t possibly see why anyone would choose to have them as casualties for no reason.



  • Could they land on a second undamaged allied(or one of their own) carrier if one was in the same sea zone? Also same situation but an undamaged carrier in the sea zone next to the planes?



  • @RedHunter:

    Could they land on a second undamaged allied(or one of their own) carrier if one was in the same sea zone? Also same situation but an undamaged carrier in the sea zone next to the planes?

    Assuming there is room on the carrier, yes.



  • Thank you guys for answering my question    very informative


  • Customizer

    @calvinhobbesliker:

    @Rorschach:

    @calvinhobbesliker:

    @knp7765:

    If two US carriers were attacked by a Japanese submarine, and there were no US destroyers present, the fighters on the carrier that got damaged would not be lost in the air.  They would be stuck on the deck of the carrier until the carrier could get to a friendly naval base for repairs. 
    Since planes can not hit submarines without a friendly destroyer present, if a submarine attacks a carrier there is no reason for the planes to take off from the carrier.  They would simply have to withstand the attack aboard the carrier like cargo on transports in hopes that the carrier’s own anti-sub defenses can get the sub or the sub breaks off the attack.
    Therefore, you would not lose your planes if the carrier only took one hit. 
    However, say your carrier is next to a friendly island or coast and gets attacked by a pack of subs that gets two hits on that carrier.  Then you would lose your planes even though they are just 1 space away because they never took off from the carrier because planes can’t hit submarines.  That part sucks.

    All of that is wrong. The planes are always in the air and thus if the CV is damaged, they have to land within 1 space or die.

    Calvin is correct.  The only times planes are considered in Cargo on a CV is when they are your allies planes, at which point they are not in the air until that players turn.

    To clarify that, allied planes are only cargo if the carrier is attacking. If the carrier is defending, allied planes can still try to land within one space.

    My mistake guys.  I just went back and reread the rules regarding carriers and defending aircraft and see now that ANY attack on the carrier has the planes defending in the air, even if the attack is by subs.  I guess I missed that part before.  Thanks for the correction.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 15
  • 34
  • 59
  • 5
  • 5
  • 2
  • 37
  • 11
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

45
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts