If you are referring to the original A&A (Classic), then I don’t think that was the rule. You could always load/unload in the same turn, to my knowledge.
A couple transport questions
Wilson2 last edited by
#1 Using LHTR rules if there is a transport that started the turn with 2 inf aboard, Can you unload 1 inf in combat and the other in noncombat (same territory).?
#2 If a transport was forced to retreat from an amphibious assault, can it unload in noncombat move (units were loaded in combat move)? - LHTR rules as well.
The answer to both questions is “no”.