You need to be more clear osu888.
Are we talking about an amphibious assault? Or no amphibious assault and no defending sea units? If there is no amphibious assault or sea units to defend, then no attack as been declared, thus, no scrambling. Then you can’t have your planes move on the combat phase.
The rules say that you can only attack zones that have occupied enemy territory/units in them, but is a special rule about scrambling that you can coast planes into friendly zones that may become hostile.
Yes it’s an amphibious assault on Italy by US. There are no Italian ships in the sea zone.