Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Rule question



  • I have a question with trannies (which can too be applied to subs).

    Assuming there is an allied tranny in sz 14. Can Italy attack this tranny (making the sea zone hostile), and in the same time load troups from Italy to attack another territory with ?

    If you do not attack the tranny, you can ignore it, so no problem. But if you declare the sea zone as hostile…

    Yoshi



  • Yes, because your transport that you loaded can ingnore the allied tranny and go do battle elsewhere and at the same time your other war ship/plane(s) can conduct combat on the allied tranny.  Totally legal.



  • @Yoshi:

    Assuming there is an allied tranny in sz 14. Can Italy attack this tranny (making the sea zone hostile), and in the same time load troups from Italy to attack another territory with ?

    If you do not attack the tranny, you can ignore it, so no problem. But if you declare the sea zone as hostile…

    Yoshi

    Sure.
    Two reasons:
    (1) For the purposes of determining if a sea zone is hostile, subs and tpts are ignored,

    And if this appeals more to your sense of realism…

    (2) Your combat move with the Italian tpt (step 3) occurs before the Italian ‘hostility’ against the tpt breaks out (step 4).

    Either way, the Allied tpt sleeps with the fishes of sz14 and the amphib Italians can storm foreign shores in the same turn.


  • Official Answers

    Scampb and Allboxcars are correct.  The loading of Italy’s transport occurs during the Combat Move phase, during which enemy subs and transports may be ignored.  The attack on the Allied vessel doesn’t occur until the Conduct Combat phase, so the sea zone is still friendly during Combat Movement.

    The situation would be different if Italy’s transport were unloading in the sea zone for an amphibious assault.  Italy would have the choice of either ignoring the enemy transport/sub or attacking it.  If it attacked, the sea zone would be become hostile before the unloading, so the attacked unit(s) must be defeated before unloading can occur.  Of course, when attacking a transport this is no problem.



  • Ok, thanks for the answers, it removes any doubts 🙂


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 6
  • 3
  • 5
  • 9
  • 1
  • 28
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games

50
Online

13.1k
Users

33.3k
Topics

1.3m
Posts