1 starter + 1 booster enuff to play?

• Hey, newbie here. I haven’t played minis since college (80’s), but I’m thinking of buying some of these to try. If I get 1 starter set and 1 booster pack to begin, will that be enough to field both an Allied and an Axis army? If not, what would you recommend as the minimum until I play-test it a few times. And yes I know that if I like it I’ll need bunches more, but I’m looking for the initial minimal outlay of funds. Thanks.

• I split a case of set 1 and set 2 with a friend and I feel I have barely enough to make an acceptable army for the main nationalities.  You could print out the stats of the units you need and use proxy units on the battlefield.

• I bought a few boosters…maybe 5 or 6 and a starter…

What I did is substitute units with other…so if I want to use 3 or 4 ss-panzergrenadiers, but only have one, I have use the italian Fucile Modelo 1891 as proxy pieces. I wouldnt suggest that for competative play, but to learn the game and play with a friend you shouldnt have any issues. Write down what unit is being substituted and make sure the other player doesnt have any objections…

Using that method, I was able to build 4 armies (2allied, 2 axis) each @ 150 points…

Once I get more figures and have a chance to try out other armies, I plan to repaint some of them to have a unified look…

• Well… I bought two starter sets, 2 set I boosters and two set II boosters and only now am I starting to have any semblance of a themed force for my armies. You might not mind getting a few boosters though: it’s fun to crack open a box and see what random models you bought. Mmmm, King Tigers.

If you do get into the game, I suggest getting a second starter box. It helps to have the extra maps (so you can have room for manuevering or larger armies) and extra damage tokens. Having a rulebook for each player helps too.

:mrgreen:

-=Grim=-

• Don’t waste your money on starters just to get extra maps.  Read my post about Memoir 44.