Each unit may be paired with only one other unit in the same turn phase, but it may be paired with a different unit in another turn phase. In Miker49’s example, the tank may be paired with the mechanized infantry in the Combat Move phase, then be paired with the tactical bomber in the Conduct Combat phase. In Jeffdestroyer’s example, the tank may be paired with the mechanized infantry in the Combat Move phase, then be paired with either the mechanized infantry or tactical bomber in the Conduct Combat phase, but not both. See the Combined Arms sidebar on page 16 of the Rulebook.
Question about placing units in hostile sea zone
As far as I understand, it is possible to mobilize new units even in hostile sea zones, but what then happens on my opponents turn? Are his units stuck and forced to conduct combat, or are they free to move out of the hostile sea zone?
They can use their combat move to leave that sea zone. It is one of the few instances where a combat move doesn’t have to result in combat.
Thanks. But do you have a reference from the rulebook (to settle the discussion we had)? We just couldn’t find it. It would also be interesting to hear of other combat moves that doesn’t result in combat (other than attacking empty hostile territories).
Rulebook Europe 1940 second edition page 14 left column top of page will give you the information that you seek.