-A Painting Tutorial and Resource for A&A Global-

• '16 Customizer

_If you are coming to this thread by way of the A&A.org homepage, welcome! I’m so glad you found it. I hope that the article, and the information contained in it helps current or aspiring painters. Please feel free to ask questions about anything and everything, request tutorials, or comment on how you do things.

Hello everyone!

I have been on this site for about 2 years now, partly for strategy talks, partly for painting ideas and resources. There are a lot of great painted pieces out there (I have mainly looked at Allworkandnoclay’s and Viracocha’s), but I have not stumbled upon a thread that includes a tutorial or explanation of HOW to paint pieces. Hopefully this thread can be a resource for anyone interested in painting their own sets or for anyone who has any questions regarding painting.

I have been painting since I got my first 1942 set 2 years ago; I finished that and have moved onto my global set. My work has progressed from my first crude brown and maroon T-34s to my newly finished AVG Flying Tiger with shark camo and Chinese roundels  :-) I would call myself experienced, but not an expert or professional. I find time between school and my job to paint, so it gets done based on how much time I have.

Feel free to ask any questions you may have! And constructive criticism is appreciated as well.

I’d like to start with the tools and paints I use. I’ll be posting some pictures and advice soon._

• '16 Customizer

First, my setup. I use acrylic paints (oils would be a nightmare, and I don’t think they would work). You can get them at your local Hobby Lobby or Michaels for about $.90 to $1.30, depending on which brand you use. You will need a good variety of paints…probably anywhere from 15-30. Here is a picture of the paints I use.