Facility question



  • We are playing the rules that came with the game. America lands in Southern Italy and holds it for a turn. Can they upgrade the minor facility to a major? America is such a beast in the game. Less 20 production points the axis would have a better chance.



  • Yessir.

    In Alpha .2, you can only have majors on your original territories though.



  • But to answer your question: yes it is possible, you could even capture norway with US and build a major over there. A bit of a deficiency from the out-of-the-box rules. Hence the Alpha2+ rules, they fix this problem as above.

    See also larry harris’ webpage for all alpha 2+ rules.



  • Thank you!

    Another question for everyone. If I have say- 4 battleships next to southern Italy and I want to send 1 infantry to do an amphibious assault (I have 20 infantry in northern Italy) just so my battleships can get 4 free shots, is there anything in the rules that state I can’t do this? This would be great to soften up an enemy if you can afford to do so.



  • @goalievogel:

    Thank you!

    Another question for everyone. If I have say- 4 battleships next to southern Italy and I want to send 1 infantry to do an amphibious assault (I have 20 infantry in northern Italy) just so my battleships can get 4 free shots, is there anything in the rules that state I can’t do this? This would be great to soften up an enemy if you can afford to do so.

    You can bombard with one ship per unit you are landing. 1 inf would thus allow one ship to do a bombard



  • You can bombard with one ship per unit you are landing. 1 inf would thus allow one ship to do a bombard

    This is news for me, where do I find this rule? :?



  • @soldaatvanoranje:

    You can bombard with one ship per unit you are landing. 1 inf would thus allow one ship to do a bombard

    This is news for me, where do I find this rule? :?

    Page 17 in the Europe rulebook. Amphibious Assault, step 2



  • Never seen before…I learn new rules every day, still feel like a N00B after 9 years of A&A

    Thanks SF!!



  • You’re welcome, now go and bomb that coast to shreds!  :lol:



  • @soldaatvanoranje:

    Never seen before…I learn new rules every day, still feel like a N00B after 9 years of A&A

    Thanks SF!!

    To be fair, this was a rule revision that first showed up in AA50 back in '08 as AA revised et al had no such requirement and allowed multiple bombardments from a single landed unit.  In addition, these previous versions also treated bombardment as a preemptive strike (This was also revised - bombarded units are no longer immediatly removed).

    So, not a noob.  just assumed the rules didn’t change 😉


  • Customizer

    Yeah, it’s weird to me how much each version of the game has changed some of the standard rules.  BB bombardment is one of those.  Transports used to defend at 1 and could be used as cannon fodder to protect your warships.  Now they are defensless and the last possible casualty taken.  I kind of like this rule but in a way it seems ridiculous – example, you could have 1 BB escorting 100 transports.  They get attacked by a couple of submarines which get lucky shots and sink the BB with their surprise strike.  Then you have 2 subs sinking the 100 transports with no fight at all.
    Another change is the Tech Heavy Bombers.  This one I really disagree with.  In Classic, Heavy Bombers gave 3 dice to each bomber (a bit too much, I agree).  Then Revised (also in Anniversary) cut it down to 2 dice per bomber.  In SBRs, you added both dice for total damage and in regular combat, BOTH dice could be counted as hits.  IMO this was the best option. 
    Then in Global 1940, they changed it to rolling 2 dice and picking the best result of the two.  I totally disagree with this and in MY house, we still add both dice.  This rule makes this tech more like precision bombers rather than heavy bombers.  Heavy bombers carry a bigger payload so they should cause more damage (2 hits instead of 1 in combat, 2 dice worth of damage in SBRs).

    I recently tried incorporating the newer units from the 1940 games into some of the older games like Revised, Europe and Pacific.  At first I thought it would be a simple adjustment to the starting setup.  Then I realized the battle board in those earlier games was just wrong for adding cruisers, tacs and mechs.  Also, the purchase prices are quite different.  Also, there are no Major or Minor ICs in the older games, just ICs whose production capabilities were directly dependant on the value of the territory.  So I had to kind of ride a middle line–combat unit prices from current games but ICs @ 15 ipcs.  It still wasn’t too hard to work in, but it took quite a bit more than I realized at first.



  • If I have a Naval Facility that is damaged with 6 hits and is inoperable and I repair it on my Purchase Units and  Repair Phase, Can I then also repair damaged capital ships this turn too or would I have to wait until my next turn when the Naval facility did not have to be reparied.



  • I’m not sure, that information would be in the order of play.  Repair of facilities occurs before purchase of units, so what you need to find out is when ship repair happens.  Is it during the repair phase or purchase phase?

    ah, found it, check page 12 of Europe rule book.


  • Customizer

    @JimmyHat:

    ah, found it, check page 12 of Europe rule book.

    I just checked page 12 and I’m still a little unclear.  It looks like repairing facilities and repairing capital ships occurs at the same time.  So, if you have a totally damaged naval base (incapable of repairing ships) that you have to repair this turn, then it seems to me you couldn’t repair your ships until the next turn.  Is that about right?



  • pg 12 states explicitly that it is possible.  Hard to mis-read it.  Be more specific if you are still unclear.



  • Pg 12 - Your capital ships, carriers and battleships in sea zones serviced  by operative  friendly naval bases  (including those repaired in this turn) are also repaired at this time. There is no IPC cost to repair these ships.

    Cheers


  • Customizer

    Thanks DefinitiveS.  Somehow I totally missed the part in parentheses.  I just looked again and it jumped right out at me.  DUH!


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 7
  • 8
  • 35
  • 4
  • 21
  • 6
  • 6
  • 17
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

46
Online

13.7k
Users

34.1k
Topics

1.3m
Posts