Heavy armor question.



  • For example an IS shoots at close range a tiger from behind en 12 dices are 4+.

    Or the second example 2 tanks shoot at the tiger, 1 scores 2 hits the other scores 1 hit.

    Is the tiger destroyed in both examples? When does the remove first damage counter counts?



  • I’m an old-school player, so my memory of the revised stats is not as good.  Tigers used to have Superior Armour (with a different game effect) but the new Tigers have what used to be called Hulking Mass?  Remove the first damage counter against this unit (once per game)>  If that’s the one then here’s the answer:

    While I don’t agree with it in the 1st case, the ruling last I knew was that it is destroyed in neither case.  The ruling was along the lines of the following:

    The hit markers are effectively placed sequentially.  As you place the hit markers, the 1st is a disrupt hit marker, the second is a damage hit marker, and is immediately removed.  A third hit counter (from doubling the rear defense) goes down and because there are two on the unit it is a damage hit marker.

    The one with 2 shots is easier.  The first shot of 2 gets reduced to one hit marker, and the 2nd shot does one more hit marker.  Damaged.

    Mot


  • 2007 AAR League

    I’m not sure I understood Mot’s answer, so I will offer my own.  In both examples, you have scored three hits.  In each case, this results in a damaged Tiger.  That is because, due to the Tiger’s “Heavy Armor” SA, hits are applied as follows:  1st - Disrupted, 2nd - Damaged (but ignore this one), 3rd - Damaged (because this is the first damaged shot that counts).  You need one more hit this turn – or two the next one (to re-disrupt then destroy) – in order to kill the Tiger.



  • Same answer, just more terse 🙂


  • 2007 AAR League

    @Motdc:

    Same answer, just more terse 🙂

    Well, I am a lawyer. 😉



  • Im not sure on  the tigers armor but if you score 2 hits with one and 1 hit with the other, aslong as you beat its Superior which i believe it has then you kill it, in the 1st scenario, you need to double its base armor, not its armor with superior so i believe a tiger is a 7/6 SA 2 so yes you would kill it in both scenarios.



  • @Mitch0002:

    Im not sure on  the tigers armor but if you score 2 hits with one and 1 hit with the other, aslong as you beat its Superior which i believe it has then you kill it, in the 1st scenario, you need to double its base armor, not its armor with superior so i believe a tiger is a 7/6 SA 2 so yes you would kill it in both scenarios.

    I’m pretty sure Tigers no longer have “Superior Armour”, but instead now have “Heavy Armour”



  • http://aaminis.myfastforum.org/about3898.html&highlight=

    You can find revised cards through Eastern Front here. Revised cards have a ribbon in the lower right hand corner of the card. Hope this helps.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 5
  • 6
  • 3
  • 5
  • 2
  • 12
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

73
Online

14.9k
Users

35.7k
Topics

1.5m
Posts