Clairfy: Deploy cost, Determine Island Possession


  • Played for the first time this Xmas, and love the game!

    Deploy: when you pay supplies to deploy ships early, do you pay for each vessel you wish to deploy, or do you pay once for each space you want to go to, and deploy all base vessels?

    Determine possession: Do adjacent ships influence ownership?
    the FAQ indicates that you add your adjacent battle ships’ land attack value to determine possession, the rules state you add the land attack values of units on the island, which implies no ships can contribute…


  • If you have at least one land unit then the ships with land values contribute. It includes AA guns which are land units but have no land attack, as I understand the instruction book.

  • Official Q&A

    Welcome, Mambo4!

    @mambo4:

    Deploy: when you pay supplies to deploy ships early, do you pay for each vessel you wish to deploy, or do you pay once for each space you want to go to, and deploy all base vessels?

    You pay for each ship.

    @mambo4:

    Determine possession: Do adjacent ships influence ownership?
    the FAQ indicates that you add your adjacent battle ships’ land attack value to determine possession, the rules state you add the land attack values of units on the island, which implies no ships can contribute…

    You add the ships’ land attack values to each island to which they are adjacent, but only if you have land units on the island.


  • Hi all,

    I’m new to this forum and I receved A&AG for Xmas 🙂

    As for determining control of islands I read in the rules That you …total up the respective players land attack powers of “land units”…I didn’t think ships were therefore included…am I wrong on this?

  • Official Q&A 2007 AAR League

    You add ships’ land attack values to the total power on the island– if you have land units on the island.

    Page 21, “for each island zone, total up the players’ respective land attack powers of land units in he zone… if you have at least 1 land unit…your adjacent cruisers and battleships also exert their land attack power…”

    This doesn’t make ships land units of course.  🙂


  • Thanks for the replies guys.

    i love this game! finally the big naval clashes I have always craved…

    Once we play with 10 reinforcement points +4 per island (per the FAQ)they promise to get even bigger!

  • Official Q&A 2007 AAR League

    We didn’t have a big naval battle in our two games but we had 6 on 6 FTRs twice each game which usually was because BOM were going after ships.

    It is also pretty neat to have eight TRNs lined up with their cargos next to them plus the Escorts and Carriers. I enjoyed having the seas full of ships too.  🙂


  • OK I see I need to factor in the ships land attack power in future games.

    Hmm…one thing I was wondering though, since the rule applies to ships here why wouldn’t aircraft that can reach the target area apply? Maybe thats a question for the designer…is there a designers forum for his rationale and design decisions?

    I was also trying to get my head around the scales represented by all the different units (i.e a destroyer must represents more than one ship as there is so few pieces) and the time scale for each turn?

    In any event a most enjoyable game 🙂

  • Official Q&A

    @banshee2200:

    Maybe thats a question for the designer….is there a designers forum for his rationale and design decisions?

    You can try asking Larry Harris on his forums (http://www.harrisgamedesign.com).

  • 2007 AAR League

    Hey Krieghund, you had the answers before. Got a couple more…

    1. Are sea units that are damaged during sea combat IMMEDIATELY moved to the base card - before land battles take place? This would negate their bombardment capability in a land battle.

    2. If a destroyer is damaged during sea combat (but not destroyed), what happens to a land unit being transported by the destroyer? The next step is “unload”… does the destroyer go to the base card BEFORE unloading, or after? Is the land unit lost?

    Unclear on the sequence of WHEN damaged boats are removed, and what becomes of cargo on a damaged destroyer. Thanks…

  • Official Q&A

    @Botider:

    1. Are sea units that are damaged during sea combat IMMEDIATELY moved to the base card - before land battles take place? This would negate their bombardment capability in a land battle.

    They are removed at the end of the attack in which they were damaged, so damaged sea units would not be able to participate in the Attack Land Units and/or Airfields step.

    @Botider:

    1. If a destroyer is damaged during sea combat (but not destroyed), what happens to a land unit being transported by the destroyer? The next step is “unload”… does the destroyer go to the base card BEFORE unloading, or after? Is the land unit lost?

    The land unit or supply token is lost.

  • Customizer

    I have a question regarding the movement phase. The first units to do so are the transports and I read “Load and Move Transports”. I suppose I also can move first and then load them…right?

  • Official Q&A

    Nope.  Load and then move.

  • Official Q&A 2007 AAR League

    Or just move if they already had units on them from last turn.

    You can’t switch what is on what boat if things were loaded from deploy phase or you didn’t land them in the last turn right?

  • Official Q&A

    Right.  If the transport or destroyer already has units and/or supplies on it, you can’t unload them in the Load and Move step to switch them for something else.

Suggested Topics

  • 12
  • 3
  • 1
  • 5
  • 17
  • 3
  • 8
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

64
Online

15.1k
Users

36.0k
Topics

1.5m
Posts