• #1 On turn one can Japan combat move from sz 33, thru sz 34,sz 35 (containing a US fleet), to sz 36 to invade French Indo China? :?
    #2 Can a British Fleet Non combat move a Fleet thru a sea zone containing a  Japan fleet in order to  transport reinforcements if not yet at war with Japan?


  • if you aren’t at war you can move past one another, wave, and exchange rations all you like.


  • However, the UK, for example, can not pass through a Japanese fleet, to unload troops onto a Japanese territory, which would be an act of war.  If the UK, or anyone else, is going to make a combat move, they are already at war at the beginning of the turn.


  • Thanks alot we are in the middle of our first game and loving it 🙂


  • However, the UK, for example, can not pass through a Japanese fleet, to unload troops onto a Japanese territory, which would be an act of war.  If the UK, or anyone else, is going to make a combat move, they are already at war at the beginning of the turn.

    While this makes sense and would be an easy rule to remember it seems to run contrary to the rulebook (or errata or previous ruling) which mentioned that the ‘first’ time you made a combat move against a power with which you weren’t at war you could ignore the presence of an enemy ship in a previous zone. That opens up all kinds of cans of worms, but that is what I recall from reading the book. Has this changed? If so, can someone point me in the direction of the official ruling on this?

    Assuming it HAS been changed, then the basic idea is that if you are going to issue a DoW on a Neutral Power, you have to do it by the beginning of Combat Movement and thus can be blocked by picket ships. This would seem to make it harder to hit Pearl with a surprise attack. 🙂


  • Can you leave a Japenese destoryer off Celbes to stop the UK invading it.


  • @democratic:

    Can you leave a Japenese destoryer off Celbes to stop the UK invading it.

    No, the process of the UK occupying a Dutch territory is not like occupying other territories.  It does not need to occur during the combat phase (though it can, if you want to) and it will not trigger a state of war between Japan and UK/Anzac even if it were a combat move (because it’s not an aggressive move against Japan).  Thus far, the Dutch Colonies are the only instance where a friendly nation can take control of the territory without it needing to be first in unfriendly hands, AND it’s the only instance where transfer of control is done without a combat move.  British land troops simply need to land on shore and everything is hunkydory.


  • @Uncle_Joe:

    However, the UK, for example, can not pass through a Japanese fleet, to unload troops onto a Japanese territory, which would be an act of war.  If the UK, or anyone else, is going to make a combat move, they are already at war at the beginning of the turn.

    While this makes sense and would be an easy rule to remember it seems to run contrary to the rulebook (or errata or previous ruling) which mentioned that the ‘first’ time you made a combat move against a power with which you weren’t at war you could ignore the presence of an enemy ship in a previous zone. That opens up all kinds of cans of worms, but that is what I recall from reading the book. Has this changed? If so, can someone point me in the direction of the official ruling on this?

    Assuming it HAS been changed, then the basic idea is that if you are going to issue a DoW on a Neutral Power, you have to do it by the beginning of Combat Movement and thus can be blocked by picket ships. This would seem to make it harder to hit Pearl with a surprise attack. 🙂

    yes it has been changed, pretty much you do the DOW bofore you make any combat moves, or atleast all combat moves must be legal assuming you were at war at the start of your turn.

  • Customizer

    New question

    Can the allies benefit from each others ports while neutral?

  • Customizer

    @jim010:

    New question

    Can the allies benefit from each others ports while neutral?

    No.

  • Official Q&A

    While the US is not at war, it may not use UK or ANZAC naval bases, and UK/ANZAC may not use US bases.  UK and ANZAC are always free to use each other’s bases.

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

49
Online

16.3k
Users

38.0k
Topics

1.6m
Posts