here is a rules questionm
I just played a few games with gamer, and these situations came up a few times.
When does the movement occur during the assault phase?
At one point does a unit need to be able to spot for a mortar?
Heres a situation. I have the initiative. If I move a soldier during the movement phase into LOS within 4 hexes of a unit (spotting for my mortar). During the assault phase (I go first with initiative) I attack that enemy unit with my mortar (spotting with my soldier). My soldier doesnt shoot, and instead moves during assault phase, out of LOS, and thus can not be retaliated against. Is this legal?
An inverse situation is this. I DONT have the initiative and go second. My opponent has already done his attacks. During my ASSAULT phase, I move my soldier into LOS and within 4 hexes of an enemy. Can I then use that spot for my mortar?
Basically, when and for how long does the spot have to occur?
1. You resolve move/attacks for one unit at a time.
2&3. I assume you are refreing to the mortar w/ the “Improved Indirect Fire” so any unit can spot? The special ability (having another unit within 4 hexes) must be satisfied when the Mortar’s assualt is resolved. It doesn’t matter if the soldier moved before or after that.