@The_Good_Captain The rule applies in all sea battles where there are sea units allied to the attacker present, regardless of the type(s) of defending German sea units. The rule mentions only German subs because the author failed to take into account the possibility that the situation could also exist with German surface units if they were mobilized in a hostile sea zone. This oversight was corrected in the Axis & Allies Pacific Rulebook.
SBR Defending fighters
-
Must the defending fighters start from the same space as the attacked industrial complex?
-
I believe so. I’m sure someone else can confirm?
-
I would agree, while I don’t see anything that says exactly that in the AAE rules, it appears pretty clear that that is the case with the SBR rule 5 that says that defending fighters used in SBR defense cannot also be used in defense of a land attack against the same territory.
additonal note, from http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs/axiseurope
**"Strategic Bombing
As a defender against a strategic bombing run, can you move planes in from surrounding spaces to defend, or is it only planes already in the space with the industrial complex that can be used for defense?
Just the ones already there."**