Who bombs a territory that they intend to capture?
Since the invention of bombs, I would say just about everyone.
Must the defending fighters start from the same space as the attacked industrial complex?
I believe so. I’m sure someone else can confirm?
I would agree, while I don’t see anything that says exactly that in the AAE rules, it appears pretty clear that that is the case with the SBR rule 5 that says that defending fighters used in SBR defense cannot also be used in defense of a land attack against the same territory.
additonal note, from http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs/axiseurope
As a defender against a strategic bombing run, can you move planes in from surrounding spaces to defend, or is it only planes already in the space with the industrial complex that can be used for defense?
Just the ones already there."**