Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Didier_de_Dax
    3. Topics
    D
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 13
    • Posts 47
    • Best 8
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Topics created by Didier_de_Dax

    • D

      Panzergrenadier placement

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      5
      0
      Votes
      5
      Posts
      321
      Views

      N

      I add that according to the FAQ, Panzergrenadiers are vehicle class :

      Q: Are German SS Panzergrenadiers Infantry Class units?
      A: No. (they are Vehicle class, like regular Mech. Infantry)

      Since, they definitely only become available after a tech improvement, Rule 7.8 applies.

    • D

      Danish straits and "warships" meaning

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      7
      0
      Votes
      7
      Posts
      459
      Views

      N

      Beating the proverbial dead horse here, but in the Glossary (Rule 0.9) :

      Warship: Any surface ship that has an attack value (this would exclude naval transports and all types of aircraft carriers)

      Surface ship: Any naval vessel that is not a submarine.

      I agree with @Didier_de_Dax that « Surface Warship » is redundant since it’s already part of the Warship definition.

      The distinction is useful for Aircraft Carriers, that are Surface Ships, but not Warships.

      We could always suggest a correction to “Surface warships that go in the water (except for the bit that is above-water) but that you cannot land planes on” !

    • D

      Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      29
      0
      Votes
      29
      Posts
      1.3k
      Views

      HBG GW EnthusiastH

      @theveteran No problem.

      Ok, now back to mountainous borders. I’m not saying terrain is magically flat if it is friendly. The way you can be certain that I don’t believe that is to scroll back and read where I said if the armor were in Northern Italy and moving through a friendly Southern France, it would not be allowed to continue on to Aquitaine the same turn.

      I’m saying that when a land zone is friendly, then border terrain doesn’t start affecting you until the moment you cross the border. And the river rules give a hint that my perspective may be the correct one.

      Sidenote on Game Design: There are two ways game designers can approach movement costs: walls or quicksand. With the walls approach, you are not permitted to move unless you have sufficient movement. If I understand Global War’s system, it is a quicksand one. You are allowed to go in, but then get penalized and stuck. This is the way I conceptualize it. I may be wrong, but I know Morten’s approach in general is to give the player choices with consequences. Other game designers forbid players from doing things.

    • D

      Fortification without unit defending

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      3
      0
      Votes
      3
      Posts
      406
      Views

      D

      @generalhandgrenade Thanks for the answer !

    • D

      Canada and Canada at War expansion question

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      13
      0
      Votes
      13
      Posts
      877
      Views

      N

      9c6d2930-8111-4ad6-9cd2-b4c8b439b3f2-image.png

      On my map, the St. Laurence Seaway connects Ottawa to Sea Zone 21.

    • D

      Militia questions

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      12
      0
      Votes
      12
      Posts
      1.1k
      Views

      TrigT

      @vondox said in Militia questions:

      I have a few questions concerning Militia… First, let me start with some rules from HBG…

      Militia can be built at a non-factory site up the worth of the IPP value of that land zone. YES

      A land zone of 3 IPP in a home country Originally owned territory can generate 3 militia units per turn. or three 1-IPP zones can generate 1 militia each per turn. YES

      Question: A medium factory has 3 product slots per turn and it is in a land zone worth two IPPs… So can the player build a total of 5 militia there? 3 from the factory and 2 from the land zone? NO

      In a captured land zone the maximum number of Militia units that can be built is always 1, regardless of the IPP value of that land zone. YES

      Question: Germany captures all of France and every turn the player invests 10 IPPs to build there. In several turns Germany has built up a sizeable number of militia units. The US invades. Can the German player begin to move the Militia units from land zone to land zone within France? NO Can the German player move Militia units into Germany? NO

      My reading of the rules would indicate that if a Militia is raised in Picardy then it must stay in Picardy if it was a Militia unit raised by the Germans. YES

      KMT, CCP, Nat Spain and Repub Spain can raise militia in each territory but NONE of them can move to an adjacent territory as part of an attack. YES

      Militias raised in land zones by MINOR POWERS can not MOVE out the land zone they are raised. YES
      Militias raised in land zones that were conquered by a MAJOR power can NOT move out of the land zone they were raised in YES If YES, can they move in the landzone’s of the HOME AREA they were raised in ( IE… Militia raised by Germany in France can move around in France but not out of France. NO
      Militias raised by a nation in their HOME COUNTRY can move about freely ( 1 move per turn ) to any other home country land zone and can participate in attacks on home country land zones with other land units. YES

      In short:

      Militia can be built up to the IPP value of an Home country territory (Minimum one) and can move within home country. Militia may be build up to the IPP value of a non home country originally possessesed territory (Minimum one) and may not move. ONE militia may be built in any other territory and may not move.
    • D

      Optional rule 10,2 “reinforcement of captured bases”

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      2
      0
      Votes
      2
      Posts
      264
      Views

      N

      Optional Rule 10.2 is in the non-combat section.

      During non-combat, you land the aircraft that took part in combat (10.3) and can move aircraft that did not (10.1), so both options would be available.

    • D

      FEC income when Calculta is occupied

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      3
      0
      Votes
      3
      Posts
      288
      Views

      D

      @noneshallpass

      Ok thanks I don’t see the modification in the errata my bad.

    • D

      URSS income

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      9
      0
      Votes
      9
      Posts
      439
      Views

      David '06D

      @didier_de_dax Option 3.

    • D

      Correct date of alignment of Siam ?

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      5
      0
      Votes
      5
      Posts
      351
      Views

      TrigT

      @didier_de_dax Thanks!

    • D

      Clarifications about the map design

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      4
      0
      Votes
      4
      Posts
      310
      Views

      D

      Thanks for your answers !

    • D

      Katyusha

      Global War 1936
      • • • Didier_de_Dax
      3
      0
      Votes
      3
      Posts
      247
      Views

      D

      @insanehoshi thanks for your answer !

    • 1 / 1