Let’s have a thread relating to Frequently Asked Questions. I’ll try to keep up with questions which have been answered and outstanding issues which still need to be addressed.
Outstanding Questions Which Still Need Definitive Answers
If a nation begins moving a naval force intended for an amphibious assault while they’re at peace, is it automatically assumed to be a declaration of war for the purpose of determining peacetime income increases? For example, if a British landing force departs during the combat movement phase with the intention of landing units in Japan before either side has declared war, does this mean Japan is allowed intercept the invasion fleet without triggering USA’s 5 D12 worth of peacetime income increase? Or does Japan have to declare war first in order intercept and attack the British fleet? I don’t find it feasible that a nation can’t deal with an invasion headed their way without having to make the unprovoked declaration of war.
HBG GW Enthusiast responded with one perspective:
Because the moving player has to announce their intent first, it would seem they have to declare war during the combat movement phase when they move into the final sea zone if they will be attempting an amphibious assault. If the Japanese have a fleet in the same sea zone where the British are attacking, the British would be the ones declaring war and no 5D12 is invoked. The Japanese fleet would battle with the screening fleet and if it won, then the amphibious assault would be stopped. However, if the British move to a sea zone where the Japanese fleet is and do not announce they are performing an amphibious assault, but instead announce they are moving through that sea zone to an adjacent one [where the Japanese player is worried the British will invade], in order to interdict the British fleet before it moves to that next sea zone where it will possibly conduct an amphibious assault, the Japanese would have to declare war on the British to try and stop them before they leave. That would incur the 5D12 penalty. And the delicious thing is, the British player may have just been feinting!
General Hand Grenade had a different take:
Let me simplify this for you.
1. It is my turn and I’m not at war with you.
2. I can move as many of my units as I want after my production phase is over. I don’t need to say anything to you or anyone else around the table. If you want to declare war on me (or anyone else wants to declare war on any other nation for that matter) you may do so at any time if the rules regarding declarations of war permit.
3. When I’m done moving I have to tell you if I’m attacking you, what I’m attacking with, where I’m attacking, what kind of attack it is (strategic bombing, carpet bombing, regular combat, screening force, MAP, convoy raiding, amphibious assault, or anything else you can do to your opponent).
4. All nations that I have attacked can now react to my attacks (scrambling, submerging, interception).
5. Combat begins in the order that I specify. I don’t have to actually say I’m declaring war on you if I don’t want to. Telling you that I’m attacking you in step 3 here ^^ will suffice as a declaration of war.
6. After all combat has been resolved, the consequences of everything that has happened can now be resolved (income increases, alignments, basically anything in the rulebook or the reference sheets that specify some type of consequence to these actions that have taken place).
7. I finish my turn. I am probably doing the last 2 phases as you and the others are resolving the consequences.
Table 4-7 says:
“A neutral Republican Spain will align with the USSR if attacked.” Does this include a DOW? Or just an attack?
HBG GW Enthusiast responded: It should be DOW in my opinion.
Sea Zone 25 and Coastal Artillery at Narrow Crossings. If there are some naval units in a sea zone on one side of the narrow crossing and other allied naval units on the other side of the same sea zone, and enemy naval units enter the sea zone and engage in combat, does the defending player have the option to move the more distant naval units through the naval crossing and expose them to fire from the coastal artillery? Does the defending player also have the option to keep the more distant naval units out of the combat? How is such a situation handled?
Answered by GeneralHandGrenade: It has nothing to do with naval battles or blockades taking place in Sea Zone 25. It is all one sea zone.
Example - Germany is at war with both UK (ships entered in the south but didn’t pass through the narrow crossing) and US (ships entered in the north but didn’t pass through the narrow crossing). Germany enters Sea Zone 25 and conducts combat with both UK and US ships. Again, it is all one sea zone.
The only time the Coastal Artillery gets shots is if enemy ships pass through the sea zone (enters one side and exits other side of the sea zone, even if that is on a subsequent turn).
If a submarine is in a sea zone and a surface ship enters that sea zone, the submarine has the option to engage the surface ship or to decline such an engagement. If the submarine declines the engagement, in the subsequent non-combat movement phase, can the moving player just move other naval units through that sea zone as if the submarine does not exist? Or does a submarine that didn’t choose to engage stop non-combat movement? A follow on to this is if a plane on MAP tries to kill a submarine. It misses it’s attack roll on the first round and the submarine chooses to submerge. Does this submarine prevent movement in the subsequent non-combat movement phase?
Answered by GeneralHandGrenade: Submarines DO NOT block movement on non-combat movement. Whether a submarine has submerged or not is irrelevant.
Chinese VPS: Since KMT and CCP share home country territories, does either faction holding on to territory subtract VPs from the other? Does this effectively mean that China VPs for either faction is all or nothing and is that intentional?
Answered by Noneshallpass: Yes, they are part of different alliances.
Further Clarified by GeneralHandGrenade: Only territories that are worth IPP’s would prevent the opposite Chinese faction from counting VP’s. The same rule applies as with the other nations with subtracting points for those territories lost. Note-The 2 factions don’t count as foreign countries.
Can either Chinese faction Lend Lease? When they are a major power?
Answered by Noneshallpass: Only Major Powers may lend-lease (0.9 Glossary). KMT or CCP becomes a Major Power once its land zone IPP values add up to 13 IPP.
Further Clarified by GeneralHandGrenade: 7.9 Lend Lease on page 32 states that Major Powers may lend lease to other Major Powers and Minor Powers. Although it has been omitted from the Chinese Reference Sheets, they do have the ability to lend lease when they evolve to a Major Power. Since it hasn’t been listed, I would say that there is no restriction on who and when they can lend lease. Things like this will be clarified further in V4.
Can a Fighter participate in intercepting a bomber and a battle defending a territory in a single turn?
Answered by Noneshallpass: No, you have to decide what it does and declare your interceptors (Table 9-9).
Further Clarified by GeneralHandGrenade: The only way any unit can participate in 2 different battles in a single turn is when they are blitzing.
When do aircraft count as being “On a carrier” when it comes to auto MAP and the optional Carrier planes retreat rule?
Answered by Noneshallpass: Planes in a sea zone with a carrier are on the carrier and may also be considered to be on MAP. Planes in a sea zone with no carrier can only remain there on MAP.
Video on this issue by GeneralHandGrenade: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AaJxeTalbs&t=799s
Can a fighter scramble to defend: the strategic bombing of a facility with AA, the strategic bombing of a facility without AA (railway), an unescorted convoy line, an escorted convoy line, an AWS convoy line?
Answered by Noneshallpass: Scramble to defend all facilities, yes (see Errata). Convoy lines no, only aircraft on MAP may participate (Table 9-7).
Can Russia game its income by declaring war on Germany as soon as possible, and then declaring war on every single neutral around its home country to force them to become German owned and get like 8d12 income in July 1939?
Answered by Noneshallpass: No, as the increase you are referring to is peacetime income (USSR NRS v. 3.3). At war before full wartime income, it will only get the Sleeping Bear roll.
Further Clarified by GeneralHandGrenade: The D12’s you refer to are Peacetime increases.There is no possible way they could be aligned to Germany, Italy, or Japan if you were not also at war with one of those nations. They would only be Controlled by if you were at peace.
Can you lend lease to nation you are at war with (if all other conditions are met)?
Answered by GeneralHandGrenade: The Reference Sheets are very clear on who a nation can lend lease to and under what conditions. There are no restrictions as to whether or not you can lend lease to a nation you are at war with given the other conditions are met. If you are lend leasing to your enemy then you are probably playing the game wrong. Rarely would that be in your best interests.
USSR’s Ice Free VP is as follows “Score 1 Victory Objective if the U.S.S.R. possess one of the following (a) a Major Naval Base with a sea zone # of 8 or greater or (b) Crimea and Istanbul.” While it is obvious that the intention is that any Black Sea Major Naval Base doesn’t count unless Istanbul is soviet occupied, however rules as written don’t actually seem to restrict this, as the Black Sea has sea zones of 31 and 32 and any naval base there would count (rules as written). Also this means both Leningrad and Vladivostok count towards this VP (despite them not exactly being Ice Free Ports; which is a bit weird in my eyes.).
Answered by GeneralHandGrenade: The Victory Point is awarded as written. The name of the VP was never changed from V2. There will be a drastic change in the VP’s and how they are awarded in V4. It’s possible we might reveal them at the Spring Offensive this July in Prince George. If not then it will be in the fall on a YouTube game.
Can Fighters/Tactical Bombers land on friendly/aligned aircraft carriers. For example an ANZAC plane landing on an American Carrier? In the US turn if the carrier combat or non-combat moves, does the ANZAC plane come with it? Does it participate in any attacks?
Answered by GeneralHandGrenade: Yes you can land your fighters/tactical bombers on an aligned carrier. They will participate in defensive combat but will not be used on offence by the owner of the carrier. They will move with the carrier but will only be considered as cargo. They will fly and fight on offence only on their own turn. The rules regarding damaged carriers still apply to them.
Assuming an evolved Chinese power, Does the USSR and CCP (or USA and KMT) share rail movement or no? Can the USSR rail 2 units in the USSR and then can CCP rail 2 units?
Answered by GeneralHandGrenade: The USSR and CCP are 2 different nations. The US and the KMT are 2 different nations. Their economies and per turn limits are separate from each other.
A German submarine is in a sea zone with a British destroyer and an escort carrier with a fighter on board. On the British turn the fighter goes on MAP and attacks pairing with a destroyer. The submarine is hit and decides to defend, and it rolls a 1 and gets target selection. Can it target select the escort carrier?
Answered by GeneralHandGrenade: The rules for target selection are defined clearly on page 38 under the heading “All Rounds of Combat.” Since the submarine only scores hits on ships, it is up to the owner of the submarine to decide which ship they choose as a casualty.
When are units subject to terrain rules that affect their movement. Lets assume three Land Zones: LZ1: Mountain, LZ2: no terrain, LZ3: no terrain. If a tank starts in LZ1 can it move to 2 and then 3? If a tank starts in LZ3 can it move to 2 and then 1?
Answered by GeneralHandGrenade: To simplify this for everyone, movement through terrain is best described this way; The territory you are standing in does not count when it comes to movement. Assume you are standing right at the border. The first territory you encounter determines what type of terrain you are moving in. If there are no terrain features you have to cross in the first territory you cross then you can move into a second territory if your unit has movement points left. Cavalry is the only unit that could move through a territory with terrain (mountain) and into a second territory.
On the other hand, there are restrictions involving blitzing. For instance, you cannot blitz out of a city. That means that if you moved into a city on combat movement phase and successfully conquered that territory, then you can’t subsequently move into a second enemy territory as a blitz.
You can’t blitz into a mountain territory or over a mountain border. That means that you can’t attack an enemy territory with no terrain on combat movement and then blitz into a second enemy mountain territory and conquer it. You could, however, move through a friendly territory with no terrain and then attack a mountain territory as that is not considered a blitz. The first territory you entered did not restrict your movement.
If a player makes any act provoking a declaration of war during their combat movement or conduct combat phase, are that player’s ships automatically forced into combat with enemy ships they share a sea zone with, or are they able to leave the zone without engaging in battle (as was the case in 1940 2nd edition)? Furthermore, if the player does decide to remain in the sea zone and conduct combat, are their ships not allowed to retreat since they started in the same zone that the battle is taking place?
HBG GW Enthusiast responded:
This is tricky because you can declare war at any time. If war is declared at some phase that is not combat movement, for example, then you may have naval units sharing the same sea zone. Page 3, Sharing Sea Zones, “When naval unis of Major Powers that are not at war suddenly come to be at war…units do not participate in combat until one power makes a new combat move during the combat movement phase against the other units in that zone. Either side can move out of the zone freely without triggering an attack.” But if the declaration of war is occurring when you enter the sea zone during the combat movement phase and declare war [this is “one power makes a new combat move during the combat movement phase against the other units in that zone”], then it will lead to combat in the following combat phase. If you declared war during the combat phase (weird timing, but still legal/possible), then you’d have to wait until the next combat movement phase and the naval units would be allowed to leave without combat.
Regarding retreats, the attacking player would be allowed to retreat to an adjacent sea zone that at least one attacking ship came from. So if the attacking player started the turn sharing a sea zone with enemy naval units, declared war and attacked the enemy naval units in that sea zone, then they could not retreat (in my opinion).
Did historical board gaming design Global War 1936-1945?
HBG GW Enthusiast responded: Yes… Here’s the first in a video series by General Hand Grenade, talking with Morten, the designer of Global War '36 v3. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHlrbXLCdwo
If NOT using optional rule 15.3, is it true that planes cannot land on newly placed carriers? Newly placed carriers may not be used to guarantee land spots, correct? Thus, effectively, a carrier must sit naked for a turn after it is built. This is discussed in more detail here:
Munck (v3 Game Designer, Morten) answered: "Units must be placed at a factory you have possessed since the start of the turn.”
11.1 also specifies that ships are placed at Shipyards.
As Carriers cannot be placed at a Factory, aircraft cannot be placed directly on Carriers.
Using optional rule 15.3 changes this. Part of that rule is about placement.
Do controlled (not aligned) minors have a home country for the purposes of lend lease and militia? Can they move militia in that home country?
There is a reference to Minor Power Home Countries in rules 9.24 and 11.5. In the Glossary, it specifies that “For a Minor Power the Home Country includes the primary nation but not its colonies, islands or conquered land zones.” So yes, they do have a Home Country, so they can receive lend-lease (rule 11.4), but the rules also state that Mililia may only move within a Major Power’s Home Country (rule 12.2).
HBG GW Enthusiast added: For a minor power the home country includes the primary nation but not its colonies, islands or conquered land zones.
We just did the Vichy rolls for territory, and there are some territories missing from the Vichy sheet. We assumed Morocco and Tunisia should go with the roll for the Algerian territories? Do Syria, Yemen and Oman get their own roll together?
Trig responded: Only roll the territories listed together together. Anything else is rolled by itself (Syria, Morocco, Tunisia). Also, Yemen and Oman are NOT French. They are independent (that roundel center is black).