Rule question - sub damage



  • Hello all, playing a +.2+ game, and loving it. At the end of T2, we are having a discussion concering a possible sealion in G3. It has to do with subdamage, and how to assign it against a mix of attacking warships, TT’s and fighters. hope you could help us out with a ruling.

    germany: 9 TT in 113 - CA BB en TT in 111
    Uk: 7 subs, 1 DD in 110

    Uk also has 2 FTRS in UK. Scotland is taken on G2.

    So, the problem is, Germany’s TT’s from seazone 113 can only land in 110 after they cleared the 7SS + DD there? They can’t reach uk thru other seazones.

    We have a vivid rule discussion about this.

    If Germany lands in seazone 110, they take the BB, the CA and loaded TT’s. They can bring tons of Luftwaffe. They do not have a DD.

    So the problem:

    • Does the subdamage of the defending UK SS have to be assigned to the German ships without it can be assigned to the attacking fighters that went along with it?

    • If so, what if the Uk subs manage to sink the BB and the CA, does that mean that all the TT’s that tries to do an amphibious assault are sunk allong with it, even if the fighters are still alive?

    • If so, that means it would be enough for the UK to score 3 hits to sink all boats?

    • also, can fighters that go along with the invading fleet hit the subs?

    Thank you all very much guys, love this site, been a long time lurker.

    Hope you all can help, having a great game here  :lol:



  • @Rakke:

    Hello all, playing a +.2+ game, and loving it. At the end of T2, we are having a discussion concering a possible sealion in G3. It has to do with subdamage, and how to assign it against a mix of attacking warships, TT’s and fighters. hope you could help us out with a ruling.

    germany: 9 TT in 113 - CA BB en TT in 111
    Uk: 7 subs, 1 DD in 110

    Uk also has 2 FTRS in UK. Scotland is taken on G2.

    So, the problem is, Germany’s TT’s from seazone 113 can only land in 110 after they cleared the 7SS + DD there? They can’t reach uk thru other seazones.

    We have a vivid rule discussion about this.

    If Germany lands in seazone 110, they take the BB, the CA and loaded TT’s. They can bring tons of Luftwaffe. They do not have a DD.

    So the problem:

    • Does the subdamage of the defending UK SS have to be assigned to the German ships without it can be assigned to the attacking fighters that went along with it?

    • If so, what if the Uk subs manage to sink the BB and the CA, does that mean that all the TT’s that tries to do an amphibious assault are sunk allong with it, even if the fighters are still alive?

    • If so, that means it would be enough for the UK to score 3 hits to sink all boats?

    • also, can fighters that go along with the invading fleet hit the subs?

    Thank you all very much guys, love this site, been a long time lurker.

    Hope you all can help, having a great game here  :lol:

    1. Subs can only hit ships.  All sub hits have to be assigned to attacking ships, never planes.
    2. It would take 3 hits to sink all surface warships.  Transports are not sunk immediately when attacking.  After each round of combat transports ALWAYS have an option to retreat.  So it would take more than 3 hits to sink all ships.
    3. Fighters can’t hit subs without a destroyer; even if you WANT to take a sub as a casualty, you can’t.  If the UK planes scrambled, german planes could only hit the DD or UK planes.  German naval units could hit subs, the DD or UK planes.

    4)  Once a battle is started, Germany can only amphibiously assault once the seazone is clear (or the UK subs submerged, which they won’t).  So if the UK has 7 subs and a DD, it seems HIGHLY improbable that Germany can kill all subs and perform sealion.



  • Thanks!

    Are you sure about the 4 hits tho? Seems strange… always tought the TT’s where dead once the screaning ships where gone.

    And if he retreats with the loaded TT’s, does that mean he can unload them in danmark/scotland? Or does he have to keep them full, in seazone 111/112?

    Talking about a juicy target  :evil:

    cheers,



  • Are you sure about the 4 hits tho? Seems strange… always tought the TT’s where dead once the screaning ships where gone.

    The transports are only killed if you still have attacking units after killing the screaning ships.  Also, if you killed all the screaning ships, but didn’t have enough hits that round to take out the transports, then the transports may be able to retreat at the beginning of the next round before you can defend.

    And if he retreats with the loaded TT’s, does that mean he can unload them in danmark/scotland? Or does he have to keep them full, in seazone 111/112?

    They should be able to unload in the non-combat round.



  • Transports cannot unload after retreating.


  • Official Q&A

    Transports are automatically destroyed only when they are defenseless.  This means that something is still shooting at them and they either have no protection or cannot retreat.  Attacking transports are very seldom defenseless, as they can usually retreat.  See the AAP40 FAQ for further information.

    Peck is right.  Transports may not unload after retreating.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

62
Online

13.9k
Users

34.2k
Topics

1.3m
Posts