It seems that the US only gets 20 infantry pieces, but the setup and reinforcement charts have a total of 22 American infantry. In addition, all the countries seem to have lots of extra artillery pieces that will never come into play. Am I missing something in the rules, or are these artillery pieces just extra? I understand the extra German infantry and tanks and extra American tanks since stacks with chips may split up, but the American and German artillery and the British tanks and artillery are all separate in the setup/reinforcement charts and so would not need extras.
You have a “normal” set. The pieces supplied do not exactly match the charts and setup. As noted you’ll have two infantry removed from the board well before you get to their spot on the chart.
We’ve been fielding this question for quite some time: https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=8366.0