Dutch Rule Clarification Needed

  • I’d appreciate some feedback regarding Axis capturing Dutch territories in the Pacific… 1940 Global 2nd edition rules clearly state that an attack by Japan on any Dutch territory triggers war between UK/ANZAC and Japan. It’s my understanding that while USA considers an unprovoked attack by Japan on either UK or ANZAC directly as an act of war (triggering US entry into war), an attack by Japan on a Dutch territory does not trigger war between USA and Japan. Is that the consensus for the Dutch rule as well? That it would not pull USA into war being that a Japan attack on a Dutch territory is not considered a direct attack on UK or ANZAC?

  • Yes, it is still an unprovoked attack by Japan.

  • UK / Anzac actualy are considered allies of the dutch and japan is attacking the ally there.

    The only way that japan can attack the UK/Anzac/Dutch zones without getting the US in the war is if either.
    A 🙂 UK/Anzac attack some japan country/units
    B 🙂 UK/Anzac put units in china.

    All other situations put the US in the war.

  • Okay. Thanks for the feedback. Much appreciated.

Log in to reply

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 6
  • 4
  • 5
  • 3
  • 7
  • 26
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys