Thanks again Wild Bill. What indicates that the Norwegian Destroyer can move, but the rest is stuck on the coast? I’m having trouble figuring understanding how to determine if a navy is locked on the coast or is free to move. Is there something on the setup charts I am missing? Or something in the rules I’m not reading?
Posts made by CraigBee
RE: Geman attack on Oslo or Goteborg on first turn?
RE: Geman attack on Oslo or Goteborg on first turn?
This is very helpful. We start our (delayed) game tomorrow. I can’t find anywhere in the rules that talks about “coastal Navy”. What am I missing?
Once Norway is taken by the Germans, I’m still not sure what happens to the Norwegian Navy?
RE: Can Communist China fight the Japanese?
It seems one vote for and one vote against. There is no doubt the Communist Chinese (CC) start at war with Japan. But are their units allowed to actually attack Japan? The sentence in the rules “Communist China may attack at the same time as Russia as long as both powers are at war with the axis power to be attacked” can be interpreted three ways:
- Being at war with Japan may imply that the CC may also attack the Japanese not at the same time as Russia. But then the CC move at the same time as Russia, so it seems difficult to have a temporal difference in the attack times.
- The CC may attack the SAME TERRITORY in coordination with the Russians if they are both at war with the same enemy. This seems the most likely INTENT to me, but is not what is actually written.
- The CC may only attack a territory other than the National Chinese if Russia is at war with the power.
Which is correct? (Or is it option #4 that I didn’t think of!)
Geman attack on Oslo or Goteborg on first turn?
Could someone walk me through a successful German amphibious assault on Oslo or Goteborg that takes two rounds of combat the first turn?
This would answer a myriad of questions I have about fortifications, neutral navy disposition after a capital is lost, and neutrals in general.
How do Anti-Aircraft guns fight?
The instructions contain a single sentence on anti-aircraft guns on page 33 “AA guns can defend against air units only on a 2 or less for the first round of combat.” I read this to mean AA guns act like regular units and each AA gun rolls a single D12 during combat. The AA gun only rolls the first round of combat. If the AA gun hits, the defender must select an aircraft as casualty. Is this correct?
Germans in the Pacific?
Section 12 of the rules say if a neutral’s capital is captured a D12 is rolled to determine the fate of their remaining navy. A roll of 1-2 means the ships become part of the attacker’s navy.
When Germany takes Holland, can they end up owning some of the Dutch ships in sea zone 88? This seems an odd outcome from European events.
Can Communist China fight the Japanese?
The 5.1 rules state “Communist China may attack at the same time as Russia as long as both powers are at war with the Axis power to be attacked.” Does this mean Communist China may not attack the Japanese unless Russia is at war with Japan?
National China / Communist China double income?
Since Nationalist (NC) and Communist China (CC) can take empty territory from each other, it seems an optimal strategy is for both to ensure they leave empty territories for the other to capture. That way they both receive income for the same territory in the same turn.
For example, say NC owns territory 1 and 2, having an infantry in territory 1 and nothing in territory 2. CC owns territory 3 with an infantry. Assume all three territories are worth 1 income. On CC’s turn, it moves it’s infantry from territory 3 to 2, and collects 2 income. On NC’s turn it moves it’s infantry from territory 1 to 3, collecting 2 income. This is repeated every turn so that the Chinese collect 4 income from 3 territories every turn.
Is this the intent of the design? It seems in earlier versions of the rules, NC could not take over CC territories, which prevented this silliness.
Preparing to Play
Our group will be playing Global War 1939 for four Tuesdays starting Nov 13. This looks like an exciting game, and we are all looking forward to playing it.
- When Germany activates Romania, does Germany collect 4 income AND Romania collects 6 income?
- What is the most recent version of rules and setup charts? I want to make sure we use the most recent versions.
Highlight of the things we think we will really like:
- One destroyer per sub detection.
- Mechanized Infantry rules
- Convoy boxes
- Political rules for Russian and USA entry
Variants we will probably play:
- We will probably play without the special units. We don’t have enough pieces, and it doesn’t seem they would make a huge difference.
- We will roll 4 dice and take the middle 2 when calculating the extra income for Russia and the USA. This will reduce variance somewhat since a few players already pointed out their concern for rolling a pair of '1’s or "12"s.
RE: Axis & Allies Global Confict - 3rd Edition Released
I haven’t had the need for a printed banner lately, but I would use them again when the need arises.
RE: 94Canuck's Global 1940 Alpha + 2 Setup Charts and Game Aids
Will these excellent charts be updated for Alpha +3?
RE: Which would you rather have a mech inf and tank or 3 inf and 1 dollar left over
I selected other: 2 Inf and an artillery.
RE: AAP1940 FAQ in play?
So to play Global one must do the following:
1. Follow the AAP40 Rules.
2. Follow the 7 pages of AAP40 errata.
3. Follow the AAE40 rules.
4. Follow the AAE40 errata that is presumably coming out soon.
5. Follow the “Global Rules” section of the AAE40 rules.
6. Follow the AAG40 errata that is presumably coming out soon.
7. Play with Larry’s alternate setup rules posted on his web site.
I would find it a convenience worth paying for if there was a single PDF or booklet for the AAG40 rules. I find it very difficult to play while digging through nearly 100 pages of rules in five different publications.
Russia's National Objective Met by Declaring War on Japan?
Russia’s first national objective in Global is “5 IPCs if the Soviet Union is at war…”. Russia can declare war on Japan on R1. Does declaring war with Japan fulfill the “at war” portion of Russia’s national objective?
May neutrals invade neutrals?
Prior to going to war, may the USA and Russia invade neutral territories?
For example, prior to the USA joining the war, may the use land a ground troop in Brazil and convert the three infantry to USA because Brazil is ‘pro allies’? Prior to the USA going to war, may they invade Columbia? The same questions apply for Russia and the middle east neutrals.
Scramble rules questions
If the USA moves a fleet into sea zone 6 (the one around Japan), and lands units unopposed on Korea, can Japan scramble fighters from Japan to defend sea zone 6?
If the USA already has a massive fleet in the sea zone surrounding Hawaii, then on the next turn amphibiously assaults Hawaii (that is owned by Japan), can Japanese fighters on Hawaii scramble?
RE: AA50 1941 w/NO - Allied Allways Win
The Axis still likely have the econ advantage at that point and Japan is probably just on the verge of making her weight felt.
I’ve tracked the income on two of our games. The total Axis income, including National Objectives, has never at any point in the game been greater than the allies.
What are AA50 Tournament Rules?
Larry Harris Tournament Rules (LHTR) is used at big Axis & Allies tournaments, such as GenCon. What will the tournament rules be for AA50? Will tournaments play 41 or 42? How will bids works? With National Objectives? Or with Technology?
Have there been any conventions with AA50 tournaments yet?
AA50 1941 w/NO - Allied Allways Win
Our gaming group in Kansas City has played 8 games of AA50 using the 1941 start with National Objectives and without technology. The Allies have won every game. Its never even been close. What are we doing wrong?
We generally do Kill Germany First, but have also done Kill Japan First and Kill Italy First. We found that even when Japan is ignored, its just too far from Tokyo to Moscow for the Japanese to do anything to the Russians.
RE: Rules Question: Can defending fighters kill subs?
Where is the AA50 FAQ published?