You’re right that this rule is ambigious in this rule book. But to me the intention of the game makers is very clear. That shows not from this rule book, but from all rule books after this version. For example in the rule book from 1943 2nd, They state specifically that all strategic bombing raids take place first. This resolves any argument about who pays the IPC’s to the bank, the attacker or the defender! Since they solved this in the next rule book, i think it is quite obvious what they intended and tried to correct.
Rocket - rule clarification
1. Can a rocket move and fire in the same turn?Â Can Germany move a rocket one space towards Russia and then fire it all in the same turn?
2. Can rockets fire from transports?
No on all counts.
Here are the reasons:
#1: Rockets originate from AA guns. AA guns can ONLY move in non-combat.
#2: Non-Combat Movement rules specify that any land unit moved/engaged in combat may NOT move in non-combat.
#3: The “Rocket” could only be moved toward Russia in non-combat, which is AFTER the phase in which Rockets fire, so you cannot move then fire.
#4: Any units on a Transport are considered Cargo. They cannot attack or defend while on a transport, and they die if the transport dies.