If the United States has a transport in the English Channel that has just been there sitting empty with no units currently on board. Can the UK use the US Transport for bridging purposes into Holland all in one turn or do they have to board one turn and unload the next turn even though the transport is not moving?
Posts made by Travelman
USA not at war movement
When the US is not at war and is still neutral, can it move its ships into a SZ and end their turn there with other Allied naval units?
I.E. if Anzac or UK takes a money island, could the US ships from the Phillipines move into that SZ as additional support? Or could they move them down to SZ54 to pair up with an ANZAC fleet when “NOT” at war?
USA not at war movement
A couple more questions: When the US is not at war I understand it can’t move its ships towards Japan or Germany, BUT
1. Can it fly its Bomber over to London prior to being at war
2. Can it fly its fighter from Phillipines down to Australia
3. Can it retreat its boats from the SZ surrounding the Phillipines back towards Hawaii, India, or Australia
4. Can it land its aircraft on any of its allies territories
When playing Global and specifically regarding the United Kingdom and their two economies, if the UK Pacific takes over Persia, which side receives the income? UK Pac or UK Atlantic?
Same thing in regards to if the UK Atlantic sends their transport from Egypt with their men over to take over Java which side receives the income? UK Pac or UK Atlantic?
Same thing in regards to if the UK Pacific sends transport over from India and takes over Ethiopia from Italy, which side receives the income? Uk Pac of Uk Atlantic?
Is it solely determined by which side of the map the conquered territory is on (Europe or Pacific) to determine who receives the income regardless of which UK originated armies conquer the country?
Strategic Bombing Raids
I need some clarificattion on SBRs.
If I am doing a Strategic Bombing Raid and send fighters as escorts and the enemy chooses not to send up his fighters as interceptors, then my fighters just basically don’t do anything?
Furthermore, and just to make sure that I also understand
1. My fighters can’t be used for anything else that turn
2. Those fighters are not shot at by the IC internal AA guns, only the bombers are subject to that
3. If by chance he had flown his fighters up to intercept all fighters (assuming that we each had 3 fighters) are shooting at each other only and not at the bombers at a dice roll of “1”
1. Japan can build a minor only on Manchuria
2. Japan can build a minor OR major on Korea
3. If there is an Air base on Korea and Japan is attacking Japan via amphibious assault can the scramble fighters attack the bombardment ships or does the scramble only help out with naval attacks on ships in that SZ? I guess what i’m asking here is - say the US has already cleared SZ6 and is now just pounding Japan with Transports, Infantry and Naval bombardment but also have destroyers etc there too, since there is no longer a sea battle can the fighters in Korea be used to prevent the bombardment feature as a scramble or are they only able to be used in SZ protection with ships?
4. If the US is sitting in SZ6 and their carriers get damaged, what are their options for any fighters sitting on those carriers? Where all can they legally land now?
5. If the US is sitting in SZ6 with their navy, would the purchase of a Japanese Destroyer and placing it in SZ6 prevent the US Capital ships from being able to bombard their next turn since they would have to be involved in that naval battle to clear the SZ again?
6. Thoughts on the best way to defend such a situation other than just loading Japan with units at that time?
I’m sure your answers will spur more questions
Sub battles pt 2
So if 2 subs and 1 Destroyer attack a solo sub in a sea zone and the attacking subs hit with their first surprise hit, do the defending subs even get to attack back? or is there surprise attack capability lost since they are not accompanied by destroyers?
Also Industrial complex question….If you upgrade a minor IC to a major on an original territory…does it get to immediately place the extra units that turn also or does it need to wait until the next turn to produce those extra 7 units?
Sub vs sub
If subs attack subs and there are no destroyers present, the attacked subs can just submerge without battling correct?
Actually, if subs are attacked by any Navy where destroyers are not involved they can just submerge and avoid the whole battle correct?
1940 questions and clarifications
I just need a few clarifications for our game scenarios and want to make sure we are playing correctly.
1. When Major IC’s are captured - i.e. France and Calcutta - do they stay Majors for the victor or do they convert to minors
2. Can 1 single destroyer actually nullify the first strike capability of say like 8 subs travelling together
3. If you purchase a unit and then choose not to place it that turn can you save it for a future round or do you just lose it or refund the money or what
4. Obviously France goes down and they lose their capital and they will lose their other territories as well, but as their Allies take those territories back do they(US, UK, USSR, etc) collect the income or do they just liberate them and you adjust France’s IPC level back up even though they can’t actually collect it without their capital being liberated as well.
5. I know if Japan attacks any Russians along the Mongolian border those armies pop up to help Russia, but what happens if Russia attacks first along that same border? Do they pop up and help Japan? And secondarily, can you explain what the rule book means when describing what happens when Russia attacks Korea and its effect on that Mongolian rule?
6. Subs have to stop when going through a SZ with a destroyer immediately, but do Destroyers have to stop immediately when passing through a SZ with a sub or can it pass through with a Navy to attack a further SZ?
Thanks in advance
RE: Looking for Global War 1939 or 1940 players in Oklahoma City
You can add me to your list when looking for players. I live in Edmond and can play either night usually. John