Does anyone know where I could view the map for GC?
Posts made by Lord Morfo
1942 Compared to Revised
I have the Revised version of A&A, and was wondering what changes have been made in the 1942 version.
The comment has been made on here that this game is balanced. (no axis bid is needed)
Has that balance been obtained thru the many updated rules, or is the map and/or setup different?
I downloaded IL’s map for 1942, and cannot see any differences.
Most of the rule changes I think I am aware of. (I have AAP40, aren’t the rules very similar?)
I also have noticed that the NOs and Techs are also gone.
But I can’t see how any of these changes would lessen the allies’ advantage…
Is there any place I could go to see the setup for 1942?
RE: Questions about DEI political situation.
The moment J moves attacks either UK, ANZAC, Dutch or US will result in bringing war between all the powers and J.
But what if UK/ANZAC attacks first? I understand that Japan will then be able to attack back without getting the US involved.
So can, in this case, Japan also attack the Dutch without bringing the US to war?
Questions about DEI political situation.
I was just wondering where the DEI stood if UK/ANZAC were to attack Japan before turn 3.
If UK/ANZAC attacked Japan on turn 1, could Japan land troops in unoccupied DEI without bringing the US to war?
Also, If the UK attacked Japan, does this also bring ANZAC to war? (I think yes)
RE: Getting extra pieces?
Here is the email I sent them, followed by their reply.
I am contacting you in regards to the game Axis and Allies Pacific 1940. I
received this game for Christmas, and am currently about halfway thru my
first game. So far, I have been very impressed with the gameplay. I think
the diplomatic situation adds a very nice mechanic, and I also enjoy the
added strategic element of the naval/airbases. At first, I was a little
dissappointed with the cardboard markers for the ICs, AA guns, and
naval/airbases, but after playing with them, I have decided that it is nice
not having the board quite so visually cluttered. One thing I do have to
complain about, however, is the lack of Japanese tactical bombers. There are
enough to start with, if you use plastic markers, but if and when the Jap
player splits his forces, there just are not enough minatures to go
around. How should I go about getting more tac bombers?
Thank you for your help,
I apologize that you feel you have insufficient pieces for Japan. Unfortunately, the amount provided is the correct number of pieces. However, we are in communication with the Axis and Allies team to see if there is any way to provide more of the pieces as this appears to be a common concern. At this time, we do not have more pieces to provide. I will pass your feedback on to the appropriate people.
Please let me know if you need anymore help!
Sound like there may be hope!
Hits on Aircraft Carriers?
I was wondering if an aircraft carrier in an attacking fleet can take hits.
Example: If I attack a sea zone with a carrier and 2 aircraft, I can roll 2 dice, but what if the defender gets 2 hits? Can my carrier take the hits, even though it did not roll a die? Or is it forced to retreat?
RE: Why plane not on island can't scramble?
Perhaps another reason for this would be the amount of coastline the fighter/tac bombers would need to cover. Most islands were small, an airbase would cover a good part of the island. But take the western US for instance, the aircraft would need to cover hundreds of miles of coastline to defend the adjacent sea zone.
RE: Rules Q&A
Evidently not. The rule book states that the subs may submerge when they would normally fire, and they would fire in the opening round if there were no destroyers present.
Looks like destroyers are going to be a must-have.
EDIT: The rule book refers to the subs opening attack as a Suprise Strike, not an opening round. That is back from the days of revised, I believe.
RE: Rules Q&A
Hi all, first post.
I was a little confused with the way subs work.
Suppose I am the US player, and i have 2 subs in SZ 19.
The Jap player, on his turn, moves a battleship and a cruiser into the seazone, and chooses to conduct combat. (he may do this, not?)
A. Can I submerge my subs rather than firing, thus never conducting combat?
B. If I do this, are my subs still elgible to conduct convoy raids on the Jap’s collect income phase?
Thanks in advance for any help.