• Hello everyone, I’m new to Axis and Allies.  I got it for Christmas, and we are in the process of playing it and have come up with a few questions.

First, Can fighters and tactical bombers attack land troops, and if they can could they fight land units after an air battle?

Second, do battle ships have the same capability after being damaged?

Third, when aircraft and ships battle is it just a regular battle?

Fourth, can you bombard without an amphibious assault?

Fifth, in the bonuses it says for the US “Representing the center of American influence in Asia and a high psychological value, gain 5 IPC’s each round the U.S. controls the Philippines.” does that mean each round my national production goes up by five or do i just keep getting bonuses?

Also could someone tell me some strategy"s for Britain, thanks.  :-)

• Welcome to Axis and Allies, and welcome to these fora.  You will find a wealth of experience and knowledge here.

Since you posted in the Axis and Allies Pacific 1940 forum, I am assuming you are using this game.  There are a number of other games in the Axis and Allies series and the answers to your questions could vary depending on this.  For example, Axis and Allies Guadalcanal is quite different from Axis and Allies 1942.

But assuming Pacific 1940 …

Fighters may participate in any kind of combat except attacking enemy subs without the benefit of an allied destroyer being in the same sea zone (flight range permitting).  Fighters would attack land troop or ship equally well.  However, if you were to attack a sea zone with an enemy fleet and an enemy controlled island, they could only participate in one of these two battles in a single turn.

Damaged battleships are still as tough (att/def = 4/4) whether they have been damaged or not.