• I just picked up a reserves Panther and was surprised to see the year as 1943.

What’s up with the years.  Leiter I’ll look to you again on this one.  Is this an exception?  SS Panther G 1942.  Regular Panther D 1943 !

I’m not an expert on the Panther but I do know that the D came before the G.  Any thoughts on this one?

The only thing I can think of is that the SS did get the best equipmest earlier than the Regular army but man that is a stretch (especially with the D  and G models)

Axis Fan out

• No… it is the Panther G that was a mistake… no Panthers were produced in 1942 other than a few possible protypes in november/december of 1942 (production of the tank started late nov 42). Their was a prototype avalible in september, but it was purly 4 testing purposes. The Panther didn’t see any action until the battle of Krusk in july of 1943 (in fact the offesive was delayed to get new weapons like the Panther into the front… and it didnt preform well due to mechanical bugs that wern’t fixed in it being rushed to the front and a few tactical mistakes that lost a lot to anti-tank mines in the opening attack).

This has always bothered me so my playing group just kinda gentlemens agreement the panther G to 1943.

FYI the sad thing is the Panther Ausf. G wasnt even produced until 1944
    http://www.onwar.com/tanks/germany/tfpantherg.htm

The Panther G is also the most type of Panther produced (starting in march of 44) http://www.achtungpanzer.com/pz4.htm

If we look throughout the game there are simlar mistakes but this is clearly one of the biggest, especally since it is a popular peice!

*we debated this on the avalon boards too… there are many big date mistakes, but the Panther G is one of the biggest… also KV-1 is labled '42 even though it was in the red army in '39 Winter War and even the flavor text on the stat card refers to KV-1 action that took place in 1941…