• I’ve been playing A&AP for about 2 months now and have come across 3 confusing unclarified rules. :-?

    Question 1 - Let’s say Japan captures Hawaii. Would Japan have unlimited build there or a placement of 1 piece a turn?

    Question 2 - Do you have to use your physical on the board aircraft for a kamikaze, or are they “invisible” aircraft?

    Question 3 - During a amphibous assualt…. There is a enemy destroyer on a coast line. Now can you move your transport in by itself and land troops or can you move it in with boat escorts and land troops or do you have to wait till the coast line is cleared to land troops?

    Thanks for your help!


  • Question 1 - Let’s say Japan captures Hawaii. Would Japan have unlimited build there or a placement of 1 piece a turn?

    Answer) No, Japan would have limited production, the same is true for China, you’d get 1 unit/round.

    Question 2 - Do you have to use your physical on the board aircraft for a kamikaze, or are they “invisible” aircraft?

    Answer) The kamikaze is an invisible entity. It’s not even like a unit because you can’t take it off as a hit. Basically, you have 6 missles each with a 1/3 chance of hitting a target in the marked zones. I was rather confused, it seemed such a waste if it required an existing fighter.

    Question 3 - During a amphibous assualt…. There is a enemy destroyer on a coast line. Now can you A) move your transport in by itself and land troops or B) can you move it in with boat escorts and land troops or C) do you have to wait till the coast line is cleared to land troops?

    Answer) I’m assuming since it’s an amphibous assualt the coast line is hostile. So, A) Yes, this is legal but the transport would fighter the destroyer, since it has 0 offense it sinks automatically taking the troops with it. B) Yes, you must win the sea zone battle first. C) You must declare all battles first before resolving any. If you don’t put your transports into the sea zone during the combat phase then you can only move them during the non-combat phase. You can’t attack at this time so you must go the route of B)

    BB


  • Thanks

    I understand the first two but I am slighty confused about the thrid one still. So if you move a transport into a hostile cosatline and win the sea battle can you unload that turn or must you wait one more turn.

    Also when clearing coastlines when is bombardment allowed in association with sea battles. For example you use a battleship in a naval battle when can you bombard, that turn or the next?


  • Once the sea zone has been cleared of hostile forces then you unload and do the amphibious assult. I’m not sure what the ruling is on calling off the assult however. If you wanted 2 fighters to attack the land and wanted to land 4 infantry in but lost 2 infantry in the naval battle could you call off the attack? I think you can choose NOT to land, the wording is tricky in the instructions. They say you ‘can’ rather than you ‘must’. I would think the air would still have to do 1 round and could then retreat as it is NOT an amphibious assult anymore. This is open to interpretation I am sure.

    If there is a single enemy transport and you have 50 battleships and 50 cruisers, all 100 units must engage the transport, none could do a single shot in support of the landing. Hope that clears it up. Check out the link at the bottom if you haven’t already.

    http://www.avalonhill.com/default.asp?x=faq/axispacific

    BB


  • :lol: Thanks BB!

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 22
  • 3
  • 3
  • 5
  • 7
  • 7
  • 5
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

35
Online

16.4k
Users

38.2k
Topics

1.6m
Posts