AA50: Strategic - New Axis-Specific Techs



  • As you know, AA50 removed the old National Advantages from Revised.  However, we can get that old AARe feel by converting some of those old NAs into Techs.  This is truly where AA50: Strategic will outshine the OOTB version (Increased Historical Accuracy, Improved Variation of Playout, and Widened Strategic Options).  Again, these techs are not set in stone and can be changed or added to if needed.

    GERMANY

    1. WOLFPACKS (Minor Tech, 5IPC/researcher)
    -improved communications grant subs the following benefits:
    a) Destroyers now detect Subs on a 1:1 ratio.  Any Sub that is undetected, does not have any of it’s special abilities cancelled (eg. Sub movement, Submersible and Surprise Strike)
    b) ALL Subs, regardless of whether a Destroyer is present or not, can ALWAYS submerge after 1 round of combat
    c) ATTACKING Subs that are not detected, have the option of choosing transports as their primary target.  Subs roll their Surprise Strike and can have their 1st hit dedicated to sinking a transport.  Any subsequent hits are targeted at other naval vessels.

    -This is your Battle of the Atlantic gentlemen.  For 10IPC, Germany can wreak some havoc and actually have some decent odds of their subs surviving for a while (esp. coupled with the new German NO)

    2. ATLANTIC WALL (Moderate Tech, 7IPC/researcher)
    -ALL Axis INF and RTL in France, NW Europe, and Finland defend on a 3
    -Allied naval units cannot enter SZ 5 unless they control both Finland and NW Europe at the start of their turn.  Naval units that may have started in SZ 5 may leave but cannot re-enter.

    -This Tech can open up some nice new naval and sub strategies for Germany though at the cost of being less agressive against Russia.

    3. PANZERBLITZ (Moderate Tech, 7IPC/Researcher)
    If your attacking forces destroy all defending units in a territory in one cycle of combat, any of your surviving ARM may move 1 territory during NCM. This NCM move applies even if: a) your ARM has already moved 2 spaces in Combat b) you invaded an empty territory c) you invaded a territory containing only an AAGun and/or IC d) your ARM arrived by amphibious assault

    -the old favourite from Enhanced is back and allows agressive tactics against Russia.

    JAPAN

    1. TOKYO EXPRESS (Minor Tech, 5IPC/Researcher)
    -Your DDs gain limited transport capability. Maximum carrying capacity is 2INF per DD. Each DD can be used during either Combat or NCM, but not both
    i) COMBAT - Your DDs can load and/or unload only 1 INF during Combat. A unit loaded in Combat must be unloaded in Combat on the same TURN (unless DD is sunk or forced to retreat). If the SZ is hostile, your DD must first participate in Naval Combat. If your DD survives, it may then unload 1INF into the Amphibious Assault.
    ii) NON-COMBAT - Your DDs not participating in Combat can load and/or unload up to 2 INF during NCM. INF loaded during NCM do not need to be unloaded the same TURN, and may remain aboard the DD. A loaded DD does not suffer any combat penalties.

    -another oldie but a goodie.  Helps Japan deal with the eventual American pressure.

    **2. YAMATOS (Minor Tech, 5IPC/researcher)
    -Your Battleships Attack, Defend, and Bombard at 5
    -Your Battleships act as Anti-aircraft Guns do.  Only one BB per SZ may fire.  **

    -this is a good naval counter for Heavy Bombers.

    ITALY

    1. MERCHANT MARINE (Minor Tech, 5IPC/Researcher)
    -Up to 2INF/TURN can be transported from Italy to Algeria without a transport as long as Axis controls Italy, Algeria, and there are no Allied surface ships in SZ 14.

    -potentially very useful Tech depending on how Italy wants to play

    So that’s all for the new Axis Techs.  Would appreicate your comments on balance, wording, or any improvements.  Thanks.  🙂



  • jut one quick question for right now.  What if Germany has mech inf AND panzerblitz?  The inf then are stuck (tanks only get to w/d if taken in one round of combat)?



  • Exactly
    I did think about that but forgot to clarify it
    The INF would not get to pull back a space with the ARM



  • I’m wanting to condense rules for AA50 Strategic down as much as possible
    I do still like the idea of adding ONE unique Tech to each nation
    Atlantic Wall and Panzerblitz are not really necessary and add more complexity than needed
    With only 1 starting BB, Yamatos has limited use and can also be eliminated (I’ve kept Air bases as a Global Tech (at reduced cost) for Naval defense vs. HB)

    **GERMANY

    1. WOLFPACKS (Minor Tech, 5IPC/researcher)
    -improved communications grant subs the following benefits:
    a) Destroyers now detect Subs on a 1:1 ratio.  Any Sub that is undetected, does not have any of it’s special abilities cancelled (eg. Sub movement, Submersible and Surprise Strike)
    b) ALL Subs, regardless of whether a Destroyer is present or not, can ALWAYS submerge after 1 round of combat
    c) ATTACKING Subs that are not detected, have the option of choosing transports as their primary target.  Subs roll their Surprise Strike and can have their 1st hit dedicated to sinking a transport.  Any subsequent hits are targeted at other naval vessels.

    JAPAN

    1. TOKYO EXPRESS (Minor Tech, 5IPC/Researcher)
    -Your DDs gain limited transport capability. Maximum carrying capacity is 2INF per DD. Each DD can be used during either Combat or NCM, but not both
    i) COMBAT - Your DDs can load and/or unload only 1 INF during Combat. A unit loaded in Combat must be unloaded in Combat on the same TURN (unless DD is sunk or forced to retreat). If the SZ is hostile, your DD must first participate in Naval Combat. If your DD survives, it may then unload 1INF into the Amphibious Assault.
    ii) NON-COMBAT - Your DDs not participating in Combat can load and/or unload up to 2 INF during NCM. INF loaded during NCM do not need to be unloaded the same TURN, and may remain aboard the DD. A loaded DD does not suffer any combat penalties.

    ITALY

    1. MERCHANT MARINE (Minor Tech, 5IPC/Researcher)
    -Up to 2INF/TURN can be transported from Italy to Algeria without a transport as long as Axis controls Italy, Algeria, and there are no Allied surface ships in SZ 14.**


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 10
  • 9
  • 3
  • 25
  • 17
  • 4
  • 32
I Will Never Grow Up Games

34
Online

13.4k
Users

33.7k
Topics

1.3m
Posts