yes thanks that cleared up the convoy rules for me
Latest posts made by Profile2012
RE: A few questions
thanks for the feedback. now i have a few more question dealin with neutral countries and convoy disruption.
since neutral countries have no ipc value can anyone tell me what are the advantages of invading a neutral country, if any? did they just add the new neutrality rules just for more realism or what?
when does a convoy disruption actually happen? i know its during the collect income phase, but if like america moves into, lets say the waters around japan does the convoy disrution happen during the end of japan’s turn or america’s turn? and also the rules state that at least one enemy warship must be present during the disruption. how does that work? when all combat prior to the collect income would have eliminated any enemy warships. assuming that you won the sea battle. maybe i’m misinterpreting the rules or somethin. could someone clarify these rules for me?
and about old planes landing on new carriers on the mobilization phase. yes you can do that
A few questions
k first on the battle strip the aircraft carriers have a attack value of one, but in the rule book it says it has no attack value. which one is the actual rule?
has anybody ever noticed that they put “palua” on japans setup chart and then spelt it “paulau” on the game board? jw
do neutral coutry have any ipc value. does the number printed on them indicate ipc value or the number of infantry that are there if someone attacks? i only ask this becuase someone had mentioned that neutral country give you income in another forum.
what point does a mechanized infantry have, really? for 4 ipcs the only special ability it has is blitzing only when its paired with tank? seems pointless. at least in AA50 if you happened to roll for mech inf. they only cost 3 ipcs.
is there gonna be tecnologies when the two games combine, does anybody know? i hope they will. it kinda disappointed me that they didn’t include them in AAP40.
and finally what are some good strategies for japan? J1, J2, J3 attack?
RE: AA50 Rules Errata and Q+A
thanks for your input on the last question gamerman01, but now i have another to ask. what happens to an axis complex built in manchuria and/or kiangsu when china takes control of those countries or if an ally liberates those territories for china? i’ve been playing as if the complex is just dead in the water til one of the axis players liberates either country with the complex on it. i’m wondering if i’ve been playing correctly in that sort of situation cuz that has happen to me once before. there was a complex in manchuria and i was the allies. i had used the russians to liberate manchuria. me and my friend were both confused on what exectly happens to the complex cause if you follow all other rules the complex should be in china’s control, but china can’t use a complex so we decide its just worthless until an axis player takes it back and holds it for a turn. so is that correct or is there something more?
RE: AA50 Rules Errata and Q+A
I know china CAN control manchuria and/or kiangsu and use those countries towards china infantry units, but i was wondering if russia happens to take those countries first, does russia get the IPCs or do the countries revert back to china?
Win with the axis?
i think i’ve played about 20 or so games of axis and allies 50th annv. edition and i’ve played about 50/50 with both sides. the guy i play with has been playing axis and allies ever since it came out and. i’ve never lost with the allies and only won 2 games with the axis. i always read on this forum how easy it is to win with the axis, how the starting balance is in the axis’s favor and ppl using bids to help the allies. tell me if i’m missing something.
with germany i usually buy 4inf, 1art, and a complex to place in norway so i can hang on to both finland and norway for a while. i send tanks, inf, and art. to the baltic states, east poland, and the ukraine, and hold two tanks back in Czechoslavakia/Hungary. i send a sub and fighter to the destroyer in sz6, a sub to sz9, a sub to sz2 with a fighter and a bomber. i use 2inf, 2arm, 1art, in egypt and maybe the bomber if i dont attack sz2. if i dont attack sz2 with my bomber i use the fighter and sub elsewhere also, maybe the sub in sz9 and the fighter in the baltic states. on the non combat move depending on how the dice roll. i’ll move the inf and art either to poland or france. i place 4 inf and 1 art in germany. i send fighters to protect the complex in norway. i usually recieve 45 ipc’s at the end of there first turn.
with japan i usually buy two transports. i then take the necessary approach to try and get two NO’s and at least two china territories but most of the time three. i try to take british navy in the indian ocean and the american navy on the american coast and hawaii islands which i usually succeed. on the non combat move i try and move my japanese air force and navy within striking distance of india and out of harms way for round 2. i usally collect about 43 icp’s depending if i take the philippine islands then i collect about 36. plus the 3 ipc’s left over.
with italy i usually buy 2 inf and 1 art to start. then send i inf. and 1 tank to trans jordan or egypt (depending if germany took egypt) which i usually win. on the non combat move i reinforce france and move the rest up towards russia. if every thing goes good i collect 22 ipc’s with italy.
its seems im doing really good with axis to start but then it seems the allies recieve to much money and eventually over power the axis no matter what the axis do. either me and the person i play with are missing something or everbody else just sux with the allies. cuz i’ve had no problems with stompin across europe or the pacific when i play the allies and when i’m the axis its a struggle to end. so what is it that we are missing? we play with technologies and national objectives. any advice?
Qustions on a few rules
i have played many games on my AA50 board game now and i have run into a few questions about some rules. here are the questions i ran into. #1- if i attack an aircraft carrier that has planes on it and roll a hit with my suprise attack, do the planes sink with it or do they just fly to a safe landing zone since subs and planes can’t attack each other? or if i miss my suprise attack and hit on the 2nd roll, whats happens then? just wondering cuz if the suprise attack hits, would that mean that the planes weren’t defending in the air yet? #2- i bought a complex with italy and placed it in egypt. then americans a few turns later liberated egypt. then futher down the road japan took control of egypt. now does the factory still belong to italy or is it in japans control to use? #3- the rules state that paratroopers “must stop in the first hostile territory it enters during a turn and drop off the infantry.” now does this matters if the territoy is still hostile but is unoccupied? #4 can bombers with the paratrooper tech fly to another territory, pick a infantry then fly to a hostile territory to conduct combat? or does the infantry have to start in the same territory that the bomber does?
RE: Original japanese territory?
in the 42 set up, east indies, borneo, soloman islands, wake island, kwangtung, and burma are all japans original territory. the control markers that japan places on those territories in the 42 setup indicate that those territories are japans. icp’s go to japan for those territories if germany or italy liberates them from the british, americans, or russians. thats right if you are playing the 42 set up, any ally can control those territories, which they get the ipcs (exp. america collects 4 ipcs if they take east indies). same thing applies with bellorussia, east poland, ukraine, east ukraine, and the baltic states. so pretty much you are playing on a different board and you can render the printed control markers obsolete in those territories. remember that this board game was made to reflect how the war was in 41. so to play 42 you have put the controls markers on those territories. so if british or any ally take any of those countries under japans control british DO get the NO for that. many ppl get confused with this cuz of the printed control marker already on the board. but i repeat that those are ONLY for the 41 set up. they are coming out with a 42 edition axis and allies in august that will reflect how the war was in 42, hence no control markers, less confusion.