AAG40 FAQ for Alpha+.2 Only (This is based on changes from Alpha+.1)
(For OOB (Out Of the Box) questions please refer to the other thread.)
National Objectives have changed:
Have the starting IPCs changed?
The only income change is the U.K., which is now 28 IPCs (London) and 17 IPCs (Calcutta). (TwistedAries Jan 14,2011)
What’s happened to the US NO of boosting income at war?
The US NO has been reduced and broken up into smaller blocks. (Krieghund Jan 14,2011)
Scrambling (has gone coastal):
If German naval units are moving into the channel, and Germany attacks UK navy, can planes scramble to assist from UK?
Yes, in sea zones 109 and 110. (Krieghund Jan 14,2011)
Major Industrial Complexes (IC) on foreign soil, not allowed:
What about the territories of Shantung and Kiangsu?
These are Japanese controlled at the beginning of the game, but show a Chinese symbol on them.
Can Japan build a Major IC on these territories?
From the AAP40 Rulebook, page 9:Quote
Chinese territories on the game board have a Nationalist Chinese nationality symbol on them. Some of these territories begin the game already under Japanese control. They still are considered Chinese territories for purposes of original ownership.
(Gargantua,kcdzim,Krieghund Jan 19-20,2011)
A major IC may only be built on a non-island territory with your symbol printed on it and an IPC value of 3 or higher.
A minor IC may be built on any non-island territory with an IPC value of 2 or higher. (Krieghund Jan 20,2011)
Say I’m Germany. The US takes West Germany. Major IC there becomes Minor while held by the Americans.
Then Germany re-takes it. Does Germany have to pay the 17ipc to upgrade the IC again? or does that happen automatically?
Germany must pay to upgrade recaptured ICs. The cost is 20 IPCs. (Slacker,Krieghund Jan 20,2011)
If the U.K.on turn 1 declares war on Japan, can Japan on J2 enter the Dutch East Indies? or is this a DOW against America?
Japan may attack the Dutch territories without bringing the US into the war (or losing its trade NO, if using the Alpha rules). (Krieghund Jan 20,2011)
Just to clarify, this is only because UK declared war on Japan first. (Krieghund Jan 21,2011)
With alpha2 SBR rules when attacking multiple targets in the same square (1 srtat bomb on factory, 2 tacs on airbase, 3 escorts) do you have to assig escorts for each separate attack and interceptors for each or do the interceptors fire at the entire attacking airforce?
There is only one air battle per territory. After the air battle is resolved, the bombers are assigned individual targets within the territory. (Krieghund Jan 22,2011)
OOB (Out Of Box) Map Clarifications
Alberta/Saskatchewan/Manitoba and Central United States are adjacent to each other.
Quebec and New Brunswick/Nova Scotia are adjacent to each other.
Sea zone 106 and Eastern United States are not adjacent to each other.
Greenland is an island.
Scotland and Eire are adjacent to each other.
The Caspian Sea is a sea zone.
Korea and sea zone 5 are not adjacent to each other. (Krieghund Jan 25,2011)
Ask your Alpha+.2 question below.