@wieguy said in Submersion:
@Midnight_Reaper ok. I get all that. Thanks. Funny, we interpreted the surprise element of the submarine as a one-time thing. We thought it wasn’t possible to surprise anyone in second or subsequent combat rounds. Thanks for the help.
You’re welcome. I’m glad I was able to help.
As for, “We thought it wasn’t possible to surprise anyone in second or subsequent combat rounds”, that is a common misconception with these rules. I don’t know of a better way to phrase it so as to make it more understandable. I will say that in both the first edition and the second edition rules, if you keep reading the rules for combat you get to a point where it says: “Step 6. Press Attack of Retreat - Combat rounds (steps 2-5) continue unless…”. That is on page 18 for both editions. As step 2 of a combat round is the Submarine Surprise Attack of Submerge step, it follows that any surviving subs can continue their sneaky ways until sunk or driven off.
Have fun and enjoy A&A!