Thanks Krieghund, that’s most helpful…
Posts made by Trusty Sapper
Rules Question: Guest FTRS
Quicky here: US FTR lands on UK carrier- rules say it is treated as “cargo” Does this entail all the following
If the carrier is attacked by Germany on Germany’s go, the FTR does not contribute to the fight
If the carrier is attacked by Germany on Germany’s go. the FTR cannot be used to soak a hit
If the UK carrier attacks Germany on UK’s go, the FTR cannot be used to soak a hit
RE: What AARe boils down to: Convoy raids?
The mega offshore strategy:
Its definitely do-able though it seems to become a race. If Japan is not delayed with an UK Indian build or a significant amount of US Pacific naval build up, she quickly gets to a point where she can threaten Caucasus. Now with both St. Petersburg and Caucasus threatened, Russia is in a pickle and Germany may just have to hang on to France for one go to win on VCs no matter how grim the offshore scene.
RE: What AARe boils down to: Convoy raids?
“Subs are good sub hunters”
That was well said. We had a great deal of sub on sub battles in our last game.
Though the dire need to dominate the oceans to prevent convoy raids remains a millstone around the allies neck because it leaves Russia on its own.
Incidentally, we roll NAs randomly at the start to keep the game fresh and force ourselves to think anew, If Germany gets wolfpack and the US and GB fail to get naval NAs they are in trouble…
What AARe boils down to: Convoy raids?
Convoy raids seem to heavily tip Enhanced A and A into the Axis hands.
With wolfpack, and even without, if the Germans build subs solidly for three turns, then investing in supersubs, and the Japanese simultaneously builds its fleet further, the US has to abandon either abandon the Pacific or Atlantic naval arms race. That done, the appropriate Axis power parks a load of subs off one of the US shores, from which they simply cant be budged .If it’s the Atlantic the same subs raid US and GB for 20IPCs, if it’s the Pacific, the Japanese can use its BBs to bombard L.A forcing an infantry trade at a loss for the US.
A German sub build effort lets the Ruskies into Europe of course, but a sudden infantry switch by Germany easily starts pushing them back as their lines get extended. And Germany only has to build subs until the Allies have lost one or other ocean.
The only allied defence I can see against this threat is for GB to immediately start building ships and with some US assistance, choke any sub entry to the Atlantic. Stretched by this investment the best the Pacific US fleet can do is sit off Washington- even a retake of Hawaii will be difficult. Meanwhile the existing Japanese island troops are used by the Axis player to acquire territory in Asia…
I’m thinking of bidding less than zero to play Axis… Anyoen see any counters to this strategy?
Should I bother buying any other A&A game?
I am a big fan of A&A revised (pref enhanced rule set) I’d be interested in playing in a more local area
D-Day, Europe, Pacific, Battle of the Bulge, Guadalcanal, all come up every now and then on E-Bay
Which is best? I’ve looked at reviews and so on boardgamegeek so please don’t feel obliged to give your reasons. A quick poll would be helpful though.
RE: AARe v quick sub question
In real life, this presumably hangs on the question of whether a fleet can continue to track a sub after the DDs initial location of it though I wouldn’t know such things
Its useful to be reminded that Detection only affects the first round- I keep forgetting that.
So my q devolves to a simple AAR one (since in subsequent rounds subs are necessarily “detected” and that becomes a red herring)
I could’t find any mention of the specific scenario at hand (DD starts but is lost in combat) which is why I posted
So Axis Roll you are saying subs can submerge once there is no longer a DD present- presumbaly that means they also get opening round fire?
AARe v quick sub question
If opponent detects your subs and then chooses to let all his destroyers go in the course of a battle, your subs immediately regain their special abilities (submerge, opening round fire) for the remainder of that battle, right?
Actually that brings up another question now that I think about it. If the above is true, can subs submerge of the end of the round which opponent sacrifices his destroyers? I would assume not.