Ok, I got it. Thanks for all your help.
Latest posts made by singabua
Thanks for these quick answers, this makes sense. But one more question to get this right:
Refering to the line: “they can’t participate in any other battle that turn…”, does that mean, that - to stay in my example - after the german fighter scrambled to protect the italian fleet (in I1), it is unable to fight in the combat move phase of G2?
Thanks in advance.
Sorry if this has already been asked, i did not find the answer via the search function.
In Alpha 2+, if a fighter has already participated in an battle (for example german fighter on G1 in Sz110) and lands on an friendly airbase (southern italy in this example), can it scramble later in the same turn (to protect the italian fleet)?
The rules say: "Scrambled fighters and tactical bombers are defending […]. They can’t participate in any other battle during that turn, […].
But in my example the fighters first battled and then scrambled, so regarding the rules this schould be possible. On the other hand this seems unfair, because germany goes first, and all the landed fighters would be able to scramble later that turn (once).
RE: Some Rule Questions
Try playing without NA’s
Also, Joint strike can be used against any territory, or multiple ones at once!
Of course, but usually it results in a full assault on france or on the german fleet or both.
You get the 3 infantry, berlin is protected to heavy, and norway can be evacuated/recaptured the same way like france.
Going for japan also is not an option because he can move his two battleships to japan to protect it.
Playing without advantages only makes the axis stronger (and it is far not so much fun). Playing with the out-of-the -box-advantages makes the allies much stronger then the axis so LHTR 2.0 seems the best option. I was just woundering if the general opinion in this forum, that the allies have an advantage over the axis referes to LHTR 2.0, because we do not have this impression.
Thanks for all
RE: Some Rule Questions
The Allies must work together. If they do so effectively, it will make things tougher on the Axis.
But thats what i mean. The axis can push forward with germany building tanks and japan eiter ICs or transporters, while the allies have to perfectly coordinate their moves with landing fighters on your friends territorys and so, to hold position. And as mentioned, dday has to be announced before russias turn, so germany is prepared, can remove from france and recapture it the same turn with all the tanks and fighters. So i do not understand why to give the axis a bid or so. if they get only one infantry more in lybia i can’t see how the allies should win the game.
Also because of the grat japaneese battleships the us and uk usually clear the pacific immediatly but when they reach the atlantic the game usually is already decided. china is the main target because us usually builds an IC there. 2 tanks each turn plus the free (motorised) infantry have to be destroyed as soon as possible.
However, thanks a lot for the quick answers, enigma is clear now.
RE: Some Rule Questions
So Germany pushes all her tanks east, russia can hold this only till turn 3 or 4 with russian winter. When the allies announce the joint strike (usually in round 3) germany removes all units from paris (where the joint strike usually goes), buys only infantry and brings tanks and fighters in possition to recapture paris immediatly (what usually works).
This makes it almoust impossible for the allies to win, except when germany goes for navy or so. Is this also your impression on LHTR 2.0 with all national advantages or are our allies players doing something wrong?
Thanks in advance for your interesst and any answers,
Some Rule Questions
me and my friends are playing revised for some time now and i have a couple of rule questions where I would ask you for help. We are playing with LHTR 2.0 and all national advantages.
The rules for enigma state, that if you want to withdraw to an adjacent space it has to be controlled by the allies. for land battles this is clear, but sea zones are only in controll of the allies if there is an allied ship. Therefore, we interpret the enigma rules so, that if you want to move ships out of an sea zone, you can only do so into a sea zone occupied by an allied ship. Is this the correct interpretation? Also we were wondering if you can move fighters into a battle provoced by germany, especially from london into adjacent sea zones? From the rules this should be possible, but this would make an attack from germany in the atlantic ridiculous.
Regarding chinese devisions, is it possible for the US to place a free infantry in a just captured country?
I often read here, that the allies have an advantage over the axis, but in our games the opposite seems to be true. In fact the game seems almoust perfectly balanced, but the axis seems far more forgiving. Germany usually buys only tanks and can’t do much wrong with them.