Of course I’m playing devil’s advocate here
You play a good devil’s advocate. In fact, it was enough to make me reconsider a few things that I hadn’t thought of last night.
All combat takes place at the same time, but each affected territory or sea zone is resolved separately and completely before beginning to resolve another combat. The attacker decides the order…
I had focused on the first half of that sentence. But it does specifically call out to resolve it completely in the second half (side note: does this mean you have to do the strategic bombing immediately before or after the regular attack? In other words, you can’t go resolve a different country and then come back?)
Anyway, the real question we are asking here is how many IPCs end up being captured. The issue is that the amount is different depending on how we interpret the rules.
I make two assumptions for the next scenarios: Japan saved 10 IPCs before making their attacks. Japan will roll a 6 on the Rockets.
USSR has $11 > Rockets hit > USSR has $5 > Japan captures > Japan has $15
USSR has $3 > Rockets hit > USSR has $0 > Japan captures > Japan has $10
USSR has $11 > Japan captures > Japan has $21 > Factory remains hostile for now* > Rockets hit (USSR $0 stays at $0) > Japan still has $21
USSR has $3 > Japan captures > Japan has $13 > Factory remains hostile for now* > Rockets hit (USSR $0 stays at $0) > Japan still has $13
USSR has $11 > Japan captures > Japan has $21 > Factory becomes Japan’s > Rockets hit** > Japan now has $15
USSR has $3 > Japan captures > Japan has $13 > Factory becomes Japan’s > Rockets hit** > Japan now has $7 (less than they started with!)
This assumes industrial complexes remain hostile until the end of all combat.
** This seems to run afoul of the rule:
At no time may an Allies power attack another Allies power, or an Axis power attack another Axis power.
Then again, it does say “another” power. Nothing about yourself.
Since the last two options (with **) seem to run afoul of another rule, I would argue that that interpretation should not be used.
Which leaves the first 4 scenarios and it seems that Japan should always try to capture first, then do Rockets.
Of course, if someone argues that Industrial Complexes do not remain hostile (that they are immediately captured) then I’d say that they are arguing that Rockets MUST be resolved first. Because otherwise, we need to make up rules that either Rockets/strategic bombing can be cancelled, OR that you are allowed to attack yourself.
So one of these rules/clarifications needs to be added:
- Rockets and strategic bombing must be resolved before a regular attack on the same territory.
- Captured industrial complexes don’t become friendly until after all combat is resolved.
3a) Rockets/strategic bombing raids can be called off, OR
3b) Rockets/strategic bombing raids can be called off if it would hit your own factory, OR
3c) It’s possible you end up in a situation where you have to bomb your own factory and that’s allowed.
Personally, I think option 2 is the best since it keeps the “attacker decides” rule intact. Option 1 isn’t bad either since that’s basically what I argued for last night. Any of the third options seems to change too many fundamentals.