Well i am a dumb a** , ty for the information, i cant believe i didnt turn the page and read on, i thought it was done at the bottom of page 17, total idiot here today. U may move the post if u want, but honestly I prefer to jyst delete my stupidity today. Lol
Posts made by jyrenger
RE: Amphibious Assault clarification
Amphibious Assault clarification
We need some assistance in clarifying an amphibious assault situation, Axis & Allies Anniversary edition, Spring 1941
Gibraltar currently is occupied by the Axis with 2 German infantry and 1 Italian fighter and 1 German destroyer is in sea zone #12.
Sea zone #7 is occupied with 2 British Aircraft carries with 4 fighters aboard, 3 destroyers, and 2 transports.
The British are conducting an amphibious assault on Gibraltar, they load 2 infantry and 2 tanks from the UK onto their transports in sz #7, and move entire navy into sz #12.
Per the rule book: “Step 1. If there are defending warships, sea combat must occur.”(Germany has 1 destroyer in sz #12)
“If sea combat occurs, all attacking and defending, sea and air units present must participate in the battle.” use “the rules for General combat”
General combat " Combat in each space takes place at the same time, but each affected territory or sea zone is resolved separately and completely before resolving combat in the next contested space"
Since there is a defending sea unit, sea combat must occur and all attacking sea and air units participate in the battle thus a combat phase for those units occurs.
“Step 2 Battleship and Cruiser Bombardment”, this step does not apply since the attacking allies have neither units.
“Step 3 Land Combat If there was no sea battle or the sea zone has been cleared off all defending enemy units except transports and submerged submarines, and the attacker still has land units committed to the costal territory, move all attacking and defending units to the battle board and conduct combat using the general combat rules”.
DOES THIS ALLOW THE FIGHTERS, WHO HAVE ALREADY PARTICAPTED IN A SEPERATE COMBAT PHASE, TO ALSO ATTACK IN A SECOND COMBAT PHASE WITH THE LANDING AMPHIBIOUS UNITS IN THE SAME TURN?
The allies are arguing that this paragraph at the bottom on the Amphibious Assault rules allows them to designate that all the fighters don’t need to participate in the step 1 phase of the combat sequence.
“If no land units (carried as cargo) survived the sea combat, or if the attacking sea units withdrew from the sea combat, then any other units that were designated to participate in the land attack (including air units) must still conduct one round of land combat in a regular attack on the intended hostile territory before they can retreat”.
So, do the fighters get to split apart and disregard step 1 rules “all attacking and defending sea and air units present must participate in the battle” against the destroyer or do they get to participate in two separate combat phases in a single turn?
Any clarification would be greatly appreciated.