Question: Player 1 moves an aircraft carrier and a transport into an EMPTY Sea Zone as part of an amphibious assault. This carrier has a guest fighter; i.e., a fighter that belongs to an ally, NOT the owner of the carrier. If Player 2 (the defender) decides to scramble planes against the carrier and transport, does the guest fighter participate in the battle against the scrambled planes?
On the one hand, the rules state that during a Player’s Combat Phase, guest fighters are cargo, which would imply they can’t participate. However, if the carrier is attacked by scrambling fighters – a battle that would not have occurred without the scrambled fighters – isn’t the guest fighter then defending, which means they would then be part of the battle?
The rules aren’t clear on this point. Thanks in advance for any help.