Navigation

    Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    1. Home
    2. Warwick
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 7
    • Posts 87
    • Best 0
    • Groups 0

    Warwick

    @Warwick

    0
    Reputation
    41
    Profile views
    87
    Posts
    0
    Followers
    0
    Following
    Joined Last Online
    Age 20

    Warwick Follow

    Latest posts made by Warwick

    • RE: Rule regarding AA guns

      I am sorry if I am being pedantic but I do not see anything limiting the addition of a second AA gun.

      a. Gun 1 and 2 are AA guns.
      b. Gun 1 and 2 roll one die for each opposing aircraft
      c. Gun 1 and 2 roll a maximum of 3 dices

      Those conditions are all true from my example and match each condition in the rule. Clause b should be modified to include"roll one die for each opposing aircraft not yet targeted by an AA gun". I agree with you how AA guns should be played but I guess my inner rules-lawyer rebels at the absence of the governing rule for AA gun interaction from what is printed on the page.

      BTW I would take a moment to thank you for your work on this hobby and you-tube channel. I have enjoyed a lot of the content you have produced.

      posted in Global War 1936
      Warwick
      Warwick
    • RE: Rule regarding AA guns

      I play AA guns that way but the phrasing in the book is flawed. There is no mention of how AA guns interact. So unless one has played A&A and used their understanding of AA guns there is nothing in the Global War rules that produce the one shot per plane limit that exists in Axis and Allies. Since I was playing with someone that had not played Axis and Allies using a different game to explain the rules of the one being played was a tough sell.

      I hope that the 3rd edition of the game include more complete explanation of the rules and relies less upon Axis and Allies knowledge to fill in the gaps.

      posted in Global War 1936
      Warwick
      Warwick
    • RE: Netherlands joins the Axis

      @GeneralHandGrenade said in Netherlands joins the Axis:

      If you’re not playing the Netherlands at War expansion then you would place a British roundel on all of the remaining Dutch territories including the Home Country in Europe after Japan attacks and conquers at least 1 Dutch territory.

      This does not seem to match up to the rule set as of 08/20/2019. Let’s move through a Japanese attack on Java. The Allies (UK and France) are not at war with Japan and the Dutch are neutral.

      1. Japan combat moves into the sea zone bordering Java declaring an amphibious assault and a naval combat against the Dutch ships in the sea zone. This is a declaration of war according to rule 8.1

      2. The UK enacts the “Dutch Territory” rule as the trigger is “When the axis declares war on the Netherlands” - UK reference sheet v 1.4 This will include Java. Immediacy of action supported by Table 8.1 - Consequences - Available Actions. This states income but outlines that nations may take actions based on declaration of war immediately. The US could close the Panama Canal based on Japans actions and this would occur prior to combat taking place.

      3. Japan completes its combat moves.

      4. Japan conducts its combats

      5. If Japan has taken any territories it places its roundel and adjusts its income accordingly. Rule 9.16

      If Japan completes the land attack on Java it will declare war on the UK per rule 8.1 as Java has a British roundel on it and is now British territory. (“It is automatically assumed a nation is declaring war when it Attacks another player’s territory or forces”) The naval forces are still Dutch and that combat can complete without bringing the UK and Japan into a state of war.

      I can not speak to the intentions of the rules but their mechanical execution is pretty clear. Japan can sink the Dutch navy but not take land from the Dutch without a declaration on Britain.

      posted in Global War 1936
      Warwick
      Warwick
    • Rule regarding AA guns

      If I have 3 FTRs attacking 2 INF and 2 AA Guns how does the first round fire get conducted?

      The controlling rule seems to found in Section 12 Units under the Anti-Air portion. “An AA gun
      rolls one die for each opposing aircraft up to a maximum of three rolls on a hit of 3 or less.” This means an AA gun firing at 3 planes is a great outcome. (Cost 4 IPP for an average of 7.5 IPP for one volley.) Since no mention is made of multiple AA gun interactions the 2AA guns in my example would role 6d12 hitting on 3 or less. This creates a potential offensive application for AA guns that may not be intended.

      During a recent game in China, Japan had marshaled a large force and parked it next to Yunnan looking to close the Burma Road. China had a large stack of defenders plus a fair number of AAs. China launched pre-emptive strikes at the Japanese bringing their AAs plus sufficient INF to absorb casualties. Since Japan had a large air-force the result was a painful loss of expensive air units. The Chinese then retreated.

      Is this working as intended?

      posted in Global War 1936
      Warwick
      Warwick
    • RE: Russian Militia

      HBG is the official source and I will modify my play accordingly. Thanks for let me know.

      posted in Global War 1936
      Warwick
      Warwick
    • RE: Netherlands joins the Axis

      Not a fan of the “Netherlands Fights Back” expansion due to the war declaration changes it makes. In the case you have listed the Allies can declare on the Dutch for 10 IPP and the -8 to US income. German would align all of the Netherlands including the East Indies. If Netherlands was playing as a Minor nation ala China it would need to be shifted to the German play.

      A further wrinkle caused by this expansion allows Japan to declare on the Dutch without bringing the UK in the game. Under the “Dutch Territories” special rule we have “When the Axis declares war on the Netherlands, place a British roundel on all Dutch territories”. This would lead Japan to be at war with the UK and the associated IPP increases (including a 2d12 bump to the US for declaring on a minor and the 5d12 for declaring on the UK). However, with this expansion we have this rule “The British player no longer takes over the Dutch colonies when the Netherlands is attacked.” (4.2 Income - Netherlands Fights Back). Without any mention of a British escalation.

      The entire treatment of the Dutch is a bit problematic as in the basic game we have gems like this under the FEC peacetime income bonuses “Japanese declare war on the Netherlands (1st time only)”. This strongly implies the ability for Japan to declare war on the Netherlands multiple times without any provisions in the rules for multiple declarations.

      posted in Global War 1936
      Warwick
      Warwick
    • RE: Russian Militia

      The relevant rules are unclear. Under the "notes’ section for Russian militia we find the “move 1 within Soviet Home Country” clause. Under the “Mobilize the Reserves” special rule we find “All Soviet Militia have a move of 1 once the USSR is at war with a Major Power.”

      Now we have two possible interpretations. First Soviet militia gain the ability to move once at War with a major power within their home country. Second Soviet militia have the ability to move within their country from the start and gain the ability to move outside their country once at war with a major power.

      I tend towards the second interpretation as it take each rule as written without adding clauses. The first interpretation requires that"…once at war with a major power" be added to the note section and “within Soviet Home country” added to the special rule.

      I do not know the “official” ruling however the direct interpretation of the rules as written would be that once at war with a major power Soviet militia have a move of 1 without geographic restrictions.

      posted in Global War 1936
      Warwick
      Warwick
    • RE: Convoy raiding

      My math was flawed as well. While doing analysis I used Auto-sum in excel to calculate my totals but forgot I had used numbers for my header columns. This inflate my average damage by .6 or .7. Very silly mistake. However That would not change my assessment.

      posted in Global War
      Warwick
      Warwick
    • RE: Convoy raiding

      Your math is flaw. The median result is zero however since there are no negative results the average damage is as I listed. If the defending escorts rolls a 4 it makes no difference if I roll a 1 through 4 however on a 5 or 6 damage is inflicted. Therefore the average damage at a flat modifier (+0 total) when the escort rolls a 4 is .5 IPC. 1 IPC on a 5 and 2 IPC on a 6 means 3 total IPC across 6 outcomes or .5 IPC on average.

      The Germans build an airbase in Normady. This allows them to greatly effect the convoy war. Medium bombers based out of Normandy can wreck havoc on England’s economy through Strat Bombing as well as naval attacks. If the English devote their fighters to CAP then England is undefended and the bombers can strike with limited risk (AA). If England defends the factories then the bombers can hunt escorts supported by subs. If CVs pursue the subs off the special spots you have designated then the Land Based aircraft can scramble to make the fight a poor outcome or launch a counter attack in their turn.

      I do not argue that Germany has significant advantage in the Atlantic, rather the rules as they stand allow the Germans to engage in a plan that they can turn to their favor through appropriate application of resources and good decisions.

      posted in Global War
      Warwick
      Warwick
    • RE: Blitz Support

      Light’s can not blitz but I would allow them to support a blitz.

      1 Medium Tank could add 1 Mech (as per current rules) and 1 Lt Arm., SPG (arty), or 1 Arm. Car (recon). So the 2 Medium armor would blitz with 2 Lt tanks and 2 mechanized for instance.

      On casualties the SPG would support from the rear with indirect fire and recon elements (the light tanks and armor cars) would be used to find the enemy but not engage. The actual fighting would have been conducted by medium tanks and the mech inf. However the reason for the rule is to avoid giving Armor more fodder unit on a blitz.

      AN other option is to expand the list of unit that can pair with a medium from just Mech Inf to Mech Inf plus all the addition armor units. This would replace Mech with Armor Cars as they have a 3 attack and cost 3 rather than a 2 attack and cost 4 like the mech inf.

      My group will try the rules out and see how they play. Could be fun could be a disaster. 🙂

      posted in Global War
      Warwick
      Warwick