Navigation

    Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    1. Home
    2. VonDox
    3. Posts
    V
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 4
    • Posts 42
    • Best 4
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by VonDox

    • RE: Join the ABGB discord: Much more GW36 activity is found there.

      @insanehoshi Thank you…

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: Join the ABGB discord: Much more GW36 activity is found there.

      @theveteran Can I get an invite to join?

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: Looking for players in the Minneapolis/ twin cities area

      @lordbier

      Good for the two of you!! I have some work & vacation events that are about to kick off here in a few weeks so I am sort of getting ready for that. I have scheduled the weekend of September 24th ( Saturday or that Sunday ) to play the A&A Blood Bath rules. It’s A&A but better. You are welcome to join us that weekend and play if you want.

      If that goes well we can schedule a G40 game for October. I have found that G40v3 can take at least 1 weekend for sure perhaps 2. My kids are all out of the house so I can leave the game up.

      I am sure both of you will have good fun with Blood Bath…

      posted in Player Locator
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: Looking for players in the Minneapolis/ twin cities area

      @brass-hat The group I play with currently have a lot going on so we don’t always get the chance to play as much as we would like to. We have started playing global 36v3 and I am really excited about the v4 rules that are coming. We also play standard G40 and we play Sireblood’s blood bath rules which is a blast if you like the more standard G40. I guess if you could let me know your email we could get something going.

      posted in Player Locator
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: Looking for players in the Minneapolis/ twin cities area

      @duckie

      I would be interested in playing… I live in Woodbury

      posted in Player Locator
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: Anyone in the Twin Cities?

      @garhett42

      I am looking for a group to join to play Global War 36 v3 or to host games. I have a complete set-up and am now looking to play test the V4 rules…

      I live in Woodbury…

      Charles

      posted in Player Locator
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: Anyone in the Twin Cities?

      @quickswim27

      I am looking for a group to play Global War 36. I live in Woodbury. I am looking for a group to either join OR host a game.

      I have been playing for a few years with another group but many of them don’t have time to play as often as I would like.

      posted in Player Locator
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @plasticknight So long as an airbase is in a landzone that is adjacent to that sea zone I don’t see any reason why the Germans would be prevented from scrambling.

      Your second example seems to be a little more tricky but you just have to break down the situation. Once all combat movement is completed the defending player then determines if they want to scramble and participate in whichever combat action: MAP defense or attack the surface ships. If the subs can survive the MAP attack then they would remain in that sea zone. Should the defending player attack the ‘cruisers’ that entered that sea zone then the defending planes would have no impact on the MAP attack/defense. Just my thinking…

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @insanehoshi ALL lend lease per the rules says it has to go the home country via rail or port. So, for example, German could lend lease to Italy via a rail line and the US can lend lease to Russia via Vladivostok or Murmansk. This is all contingent that there is a working railroad line to the destination OR there are no enemy ships in the sea zone that could interdict the lend lease material. The US could not lend lease to a British colony in Africa for example since it’s not part of the home territory even if there was a working port available.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @noneshallpass I have to agree with this. Sometimes you just have to let years of A&A gaming kick in and even though the rules say you can’t… it clearly does not say you CAN. I sort of rationalize these attrition attacks to a prepared position that has ample artillery ammunition and supplies to sustain what would have been a tremendous expenditure of ammunition. Now, you are asking for those artillery units to move an entire land zone, with the ammunition and then conduct a barrage. I think it’s either or., if you have SP artillery you can move 2 and then enter into combat with the other ground/air units. OR you can you sit in the land zone you are in and conduct an attrition attack on the adjacent land zone. Just my thinking… I don’t think the game creators had a vision of SP artillery or mobile infantry towed artillery moving 2 land zones and THEN attacking a land zone ( 3 land zones now ) from their original position? Do you?

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @insanehoshi You have to look at page 12 in the rule book, 1.12 on narrow crossings. So long as their enemy ships in the channel ( British ) you can NOT cross the channel using the narrow crossings rule. If he had a coastal artillery based in Southern England ( which is always a good thing to build I think ) it will prevent any such crossing automatically. Along with a plan on MAP or any enemy ship.

      So the ONLY way to combat move across the channel would be to eliminate all enemy coastal artillery units, MAP planes and surface ships before you could use the narrow crossings rule and the same thing would apply to my previous post. You HAVE to announce ALL combat moves from the start of your combat movement phase so if you decide to engage the british fleet with your ships and your ships fail to eliminate the British then your troops are stuck on the beaches of France for another turn. You can’t decide after the failed sea battle that “okay, that didn’t work so now I will use my troops to strategic move to this location”

      The ONLY time you get to decide to during combat to do something ‘else’ with your troops is to either retreat from battle as the attacker OR to blitz provided your combat forces meet the requirement of blitzing.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @insanehoshi I would say no. You have to announce ALL of your combat moves before moving. So in your example… you would announce that either ALL or a part of your naval surface/subs/air will be attacking the British fleet in the channel. As WELL AS, landing an amphibious force. This part I am bit unsure about is this BUT I think this is correct. The assumption is that screening forces are all defending ships. The defending player can NOT leave back a lone DD or cruiser while the remaining ships engage the screening fleet. Otherwise a rule-wise defending player would simply throw a single DD at the attacking screening ships who then can’t participate against the landings and then the British player can pounce on the transports and kill them all.

      So, IF the Germans WIN the screening battle then ALL transports can proceed with the landings along with any German ships that were NOT part of the screening forces. However, if the Germans lose the screening battle then all of the transports and forces with those transports can not proceed to the landing. They are just stuck in the same sea zone along with any surviving British sea forces.

      I think that is how it works…

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast My belief would be the planes would be lost. Unless it could find an adjacent land zone that is 1 away from it’s current location land/sea zone to land. Scrambling is a rushed operation as planes expend a lot of fuel to reach and find the enemy and engage in combat. Versus a normal combat movement where the planes might be loaded with extra fuel and would fly at a more economical speed and height to maximize fuel consumption.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @insanehoshi All combat movement happens simultaneously. The attacking player has to announce all combat moves first and then the defending player then declares their defensive reactions, such as scrambling.

      In your example, the attacking player would have had to declare attacks on both land zones and then the defending player has the option to keep his planes in the land zone that the air base is in and defend it OR scramble and assist the adjacent land zone and defend there.

      It would be poor gaming in my opinion if a player decided to attack one land zone, the defending player then makes a choice to scramble to that land zone and defend and then a few minutes later the attack player then announces his is attacking the land zone the planes came from… That doesn’t make sense.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: Militia questions

      I have a few questions concerning Militia… First, let me start with some rules from HBG…

      Militia can be built at a non-factory site up the worth of the IPP value of that land zone.

      1. A land zone of 3 IPP in a home country can generate 3 militia units per turn. or three 1-IPP zones can generate 1 militia each per turn.

      Question: A medium factory has 3 product slots per turn and it is in a land zone worth two IPPs… So can the player build a total of 5 militia there? 3 from the factory and 2 from the land zone? (YES/NO)

      1. In a captured land zone the maximum number of Militia units that can be built is always 1, regardless of the IPP value of that land zone. (YES/NO)

      Question: Germany captures all of France and every turn the player invests 10 IPPs to build there. In several turns Germany has built up a sizeable number of militia units. The US invades. Can the German player begin to move the Militia units from land zone to land zone within France? Can the German player move Militia units into Germany?

      My reading of the rules would indicate that if a Militia is raised in Picardy then it must stay in Picardy if it was a Militia unit raised by the Germans.

      KMT, CCP, Nat Spain and Repub Spain can raise militia in each territory but NONE of them can move to an adjacent territory as part of an attack.

      Militias raised in land zones by MINOR POWERS can not MOVE out the land zone they are raised. ( yes/no )
      Militias raised in land zones that were conquered by a MAJOR power can NOT move out of the land zone they were raised in ( YES/NO ) If YES, can they move in the landzone’s of the HOME AREA they were raised in ( IE… Militia raised by Germany in France can move around in France but not out of France.
      Militias raised by a nation in their HOME COUNTRY can move about freely ( 1 move per turn ) to any other home country land zone and can participate in attacks on land zones with other land units. (YES / NO)

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: On factories, How many can you build?

      @chris_henry I think I will just amend the set-up to make it a minor factory and leave it at that for now…

      If the rules had a different mechanic for the annexation process other than a combat move then I might think that the medium factory could stay a medium factory. The rules state any factory that was a major or medium in a territory that is conquered becomes a minor factory.

      I guess there is nothing to stop the Germans from building another minor factory there if they want but why would they?

      I think it was just a mistake when the neutral set-up was getting developed.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: On factories, How many can you build?

      @chris_henry I agree… I am hoping someone else will chime in who has been playing this game for longer than I have and could share how they have been handling this situation. The German set-up sheet clearly states which territories are home territories for Germany and Bohemia is not one of them. So regardless if it is conquered OR aligned the factory should drop to a minor one when Germany moves in. So my money is on that this is a game detail that should be corrected in a future update. It should just be a minor factory from the start to avoid confusion.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: On factories, How many can you build?

      @trig That was what I was thinking as well. That it gets downgraded as soon as it’s either invaded or aligned. There are no other neutrals that have a medium factory so it’s a one off situation. The annexation of Bohemia was NOT a welcomed event ( with the exception of a minority of Germans who lived there ) so I think it should be downgraded to a minor factory if we are following a historical approach.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: On factories, How many can you build?

      A follow-up question… If a NEUTRAL has a MEDIUM factory and it becomes ALIGNED to a MAJOR power does the factory get reduced to a MINOR factory or does it remain a MEDIUM? For example, I think Bohemia has 1 medium factory. Once it is aligned does it reduce to a minor?

      Factories in conquered territories get reduced to smalls with no ability to upgrade them.

      Since Bohemia, Austria and Slovakia are not home territories for Germany it would make sense even if they are aligned that the factories also get reduced… Correct?

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • On factories, How many can you build?

      Re: The FAQ Thread

      On page 53 of the rule book it states: “A ZONE can hold more than 1 factory.”

      If this is the case are there any limitations on building, for example, 2 or 3 major factories in BERLIN, and gaining 2 or 3 more tech roles as well as the production boost? I can’t seem to find anything to say it CAN’T be done.

      Also, if the Soviets use the option of moving a factory it would stand to reason they could move it to Moscow (example) and thus have 2 major factories in that land zone, correct?
      And, and additional clarification to the above USSR rule. Moving factories is not a one time event. The USSR can, if they have rail capacity, MOVE two minor or medium factories each turn OR they can move 1 major each turn. With the understanding that a factory that is getting moved can NOT produce war materials.

      Do I understand the rules correctly?

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast I appreciate the replies to my questions. Thank you.

      One follow-up… But I think I already know the answer. The CCP starts off with only 1 territory. It’s only hope of really expanding it’s territory is to to ‘influence’ a warlord to join them and by doing so gain another territory or two. It’s original territory generates 2 IPPs. So they are very limited on options… Either use it to build infantry or militia or use that income to improve their rolls for recruiting a warlord.

      There is no ‘path’ or option for the USSR to send aid ( lend-lease ) IPPs to the CCP until they gain a port, or have a control a rail line that has an unbroken line back to the USSR which, would need to go through Manchuria.

      So, there is no option for the USSR to send them any lend lease IPPs, correct?

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast I have a couple of questions that I would like to get answers on.

      Question 1: The rules state that IF the CCP possesses a land zone adjacent to a Soviet-possessed land zone in the production phase it MAY purchase artillery and AA guns. These must be placed in this adjacent land zone.

      My assumption is that this is a special form of LEND-LEASE just for the CCP. It does not indicate how much of either the USSR can purchase, so it could buy 1 or 3 and place them along the border with the CCP. I would also assume that on the CCP players turn would treat that it is a version of lend-lease and become CCP property that can be moved on the CCP non-combat movement phase? Regular LEND-LEASE can only arrive via a port or a rail line and there are no rail roads leading into China and what ones do go through Manchuria.

      I am I correct?

      QUESTION #2: Fortifications are built on the BORDER of a land zone. Again, my common sense indicates the player has to indicate what BORDER that fortification is protecting so if land zone borders 3 adjacent land zones it can ONLY protect ONE of those borders, not all 3. ( Exceptions would be those indicated in the rules such as islands, cities and special areas ). Is this correct?

      QUESTION# 3: It is my assumption that ONCE the SCW is one by either side, the special events table is not used anymore?

      Question #4 Upgrading infantry by paying 1 IPP to promote them to mobile infantry. I have seen some contradictory rules that seem to indicate you COULD upgrade them to MECH infantry as well for the same 1 IPP, is this correct? Or, you can upgrade an infantry to a motorized infantry from Y36 to Jan of 39 and then in JULY of 39 when mechs become available you can either upgrade to mobile infantry OR mech infantry. OR is it JUST that you can only upgrade an infantry TO a mobile infantry ONLY regardless of the year. To me, again, my common sense is pushing me to the later than the former that if you are starting in 36 you can upgrade to mobile infantry and when mechs become available you can do either. Because, to me, it doesn’t seem that there is no difference between upgrading a unit from an infantry to mobile infantry vs an infantry to a mech infantry. The only difference is that at the start of the game in 36 you don’t have access to mech infantry.

      Sorry, if these are questions that seem simple but I couldn’t find any clarifications elsewhere so I guess they just assume that common sense would guide players on what the rules are supposed to mean.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: SCW is there a downside to USSR full intervention?

      @chris_henry That was the only downside as well that I could see but unless Germany decides to not attack France first and decides to attack the USSR which are very unlikely I am not overtly concerned about the loss of the bonus because Britain should be at war with Germany at this point and the USA should be very close as well. With the limited amount of IPPs Russia gets at the start the only way they can really help is by sending troops. They can build a fighter in Madrid but they have 8 IPPs and the plane costs 10… I just don’t see how the Republicans can even hope to win unless the allies support them or the USSR goes full intervention.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • RE: SCW is there a downside to USSR full intervention?

      @delaja I am playing standard expansion module not the admiral version.

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • SCW is there a downside to USSR full intervention?

      I keep reading the rules and I just don’t see a downside to going all in if I am playing the soviets? At 8 IPP to start minor intervention gives little help? Building a plane in Madrid takes to long. Am I missing something?

      posted in Global War 1936
      V
      VonDox
    • 1
    • 2
    • 1 / 2