Thanks! Makes sense to me.
Latest posts made by kpb66
AAA as casualties
After AAAs have fired before regular combat begins, are they available to the defender to be taken as casualties during attacker hits?
That is, if the defending side has 4 infantry, 2 AAA, and 2 fighters and the attacker rolls 5 hits, can the defender opt to take 4 infantry and 1 AAA instead of 4 infantry and 1 fighter?
This came up last night in a game I played and just want to be clear on the matter before the next one.
RE: Moving unescorted transports
I know these are the rules as written, but I’ve always thought they stink on ice… unescorted transports, loaded with war goods sailing through sub-infested waters with ZERO RISK of being sunk, or even stopped…
It just really smacks me as the most nonsensical rule in A&A.
I totally agree.
Thanks for the replies. I’m sure this one is asked all the time but I got unsatisfactory search results.
Moving unescorted transports
To quote 2nd Ed rules, page 13:
However, a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing one or more ignored enemy submarines unless at least one warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.
Does this also apply to unescorted transports trying to move through a SZ with a sub? That is, is this a case where the SZ is hostile and the transport has to stop?
Also, during non-combat movement, can an unescorted transport traverse through or stop at a SZ with an enemy sub?
I’m guessing no on both counts but would like some clarification. Thanks.
RE: 1942.2 Strategy Guide Introduction: Feedback Appreciated
The defensive value of infantry is clear for the cost, but their attack value should not be underestimated either. If you consider that 4 infantry attacking together are at basically the same odds (during a single round of combat) as a bomber, you can see that their attack value for the cost is decent as well. 4 infantry on attack can also be better than a bomber in some cases, because you not only have the same chance statistically to roll a single hit in the first round of combat, but there is a chance you might even roll more than one hit. You get 4 shots after all.
Though I realize this article was written a few years ago, I do question quoted paragraph.
I’m wondering if the author meant to state 6 infantry and not 4 in comparison to its “to hit” odds with bomber.
To get at least a “one” with 4 dice, the probability is 1 - (5/6)^4, no? If this is the case, the probability is: ~52%
On the other hand, the bomber’s chance to hit is 4/6 or ~67%.
Assuming my math is correct as it’s been a long time since I’ve taken a stats/prob course, this is not exactly “basically the same odds”.
On the other hand, with 6 inf, based on my math above, the odds are: 1 - (5/6)^6 = ~67%.
Bear in mind that my calculations are based on “at least one” one whereas the paragraph is based on a single hit. The odds for that is even worse than what I’ve shown (38% I think).
I’m enjoying this article but am very confused about this paragraph. If I’m wrong, please correct me. However, wrong or right, it may be better to modify this paragraph to actually display the odds values instead of implying that they’re basically the same odds.
Regardless, I do see what the author is getting at in explaining that, for the buck, the infantry is a great unit.
Also, I appreciate the work that went in to doing this.