Hey Hey Hey
Thanks for the response and the clarification everyone!
Just to clarify my question was about the Japanese Plane landing on Borneo, because the island was just taken on Japans last turn during their attack on turn one, I was wondering if there has been any debate since it has technically not been Japans Next turn that it would be allowed to land that plane on Borneo, rather that it is the “mid way” point in the Order of Play, being the British Players turn, and that the plane has now lost it’s original landing zone (the carrier).
I understand that now at this point this is a friendly territory and the Japanese Plane can land on Borneo, my question is regarding the “cannot land planes on newly captured territories” rule and if this rule (the one move space for fighters, which is the only movement rule in the rule books that does not happen on your turn) somewhat conflicts with one another. So to put it in a question do any of you think that this is a conflict in the rules regarding the eligibility for this plane to land on this newly, or (not so newly) captured territory of Japan? because it has technically not been Japans next turn that then allows planes to land in a newly captured territory, and it is also happening in a “grey area” between the Japanese Players turns.
Overall I agree with what has been said, I hope this has not been too confusing. I was just wondering if this has come into anyones awareness or even possibly happened in a game that lead to an debate.
Hey Hey, First Post.
I used to play Axis and Allies as a kid and recently got the Global setup and have run into a question, regarding the 1 move Rule for fights left without their original landing zone.
Japan takes Borneo on the first turn and brings down a carrier to support the transport, and lands a plane on it. Then on Britain’s turn they are able to destroy the carrier but the plane survives the battle. Being that this plane only has one space to find a landing zone, I would put the plane onto Borneo, however what pops into my mind is if this is allowable since the territory was taken just during Japans last turn and if that rule still applies, for whichever reason, my guess that it is technically not Japans turn at that moment, but Britain’s turn.
My thoughts is that the plane should be allowed to land onto Borneo, as during Japans turn the player was able to find a safe landing for the plane, and it was the attack by the British player, on the British Players turn, caused this plane to no longer have a place to land. Also that the movement space allotted for this scenario is only one space anyways, if it was the normal movement the plane could land in Siam or somewhere on the Chinese Coast.
To me it seems a little crippling to the Japan player, or whoever else would be in the situation, because they rolled out and won the battle, now to lose the plane to not being able to land on Borneo.
Anyways thanks if anyone has any thoughts, I have been thinking about this one a couple of times and would love to hear someones opinion.