Hello all, Since my group and I have played Axis and Allies, we’ve always play the gathering of IPC’s such as this:
Soviet Union ends it’s turn with 28 IPC’s. Germany then takes the caucasus which is worth 4 Ipc’s. at the end of Germany’s turn they then add the 4 IPC’s from the Caucasus to their economy however the Soviet Union still maintains their 28 IPC’s including the 4 from the Caucasus that they received when they still controlled it at the end of their last turn. we always thought of it as, the Soviets collected the resources of the territory and still had them even though the Germans now control the Caucasus.
However Now I am unsure if this is the correct way to play after playing a game of 1914.
The rules state that when a territory is contested the original controlling power immediatly removes the IPC’s from their economy. so then instead of having 48 IPC’s to begin their turn with, they would then instead start their next turn with only say 45 IPC’s. Does the same apply for if a territory is taken? does the original controlling power lose those IPC’s form their economy and the new controlling power now add those to theirs?