Thank you, Krieghund!
Is it possible to mobilize units in captured capitals with the standard rules? Or is the British Empire the only major power that can mobilize in more than one location?
I’m a little confused about the recruitment in this version. Are there specific limits to the number of units you can build, and where you can produce them? I know naval units can only be built at shipyards, but are land unit purchases limited to any specific regions?
I think you’re getting the quick chart for attack and defense mixed up with the casualty zone. All I ever use the casualty zone for is keeping track of hits during large battles. Also sounds like the defender in this case would have sank both the cruiser and destroyer if he rolled threes. A battleship hits on anything less than 4, that’s what makes it so dangerous. A battleship, as well as carriers, take two hits to sink, so the defender could have even applied the hit you scored to his battleship if he didn’t want to sacrifice the destroyer. In order to repair a damaged capital ship, you have to move it to a friendly port, where it repairs at no cost at the start of your next turn. Damaged capital ships are usually marked by placing them on their sides. There would have been no need for a second attack in this case, since the defender wiped out the attacking fleet. Let me know if you need more clarification.
Oh, awesome. We thought you had to own the base. That actually makes a lot more sense as far as realism goes.
Thanks wittmann, that cleared up a lot of things that we were doing wrong. Can’t wait to play again with a better understanding of the rules.
Good morning to you, witttmann.
That helped a lot, we were all arguing over our interpretations of the rules :-D The rules regarding damage on all of the base types really cleared things up. Also, if you get lucky and wipe out a force with bombardment (Friend did this to me in Malta) Do the landing forces regard it as an undefended territory?
That also brings up a couple more questions about air and naval bases that I forgot about. We played with the rule that air and naval bases are like minor factories. With this in place they could only produce 3 units per turn, and could only be placed on territories with 2 IPC. Is this correct? Or can they be placed on any territory producing IPC?
Lastly, we figured planes could be refueled in a territory even if it was taken in the combat phase, but we weren’t entirely sure about it.
I’m mainly wondering if you can carry out a bombardment or air strike on enemy troops even if you have no ground troops involved in the combat. For example, can the UK launch air raids and bombardments in normandy and holland even if they have no plans for a landing that turn? Only have a couple matches under my belt, and everyone I play with is as new, or newer, than I am to the game. The rulebook only mentions bombardment in coordination with amphibious assaults, unless I missed some info in there.
Was also wondering how to handle aircraft attacking naval units (excluding carriers). So far we’ve been giving ships a defensive roll against aircraft since they would certainly have AA guns, but we’re all a little unsure about the rules around it.
Lastly, we weren’t entirely sure of the costs involved in repairing damaged capital ships and factories. Unless I’m mistaken, capital ships can only be repaired at your own factions naval yards, but we weren’t sure of the cost (if any). We were also uncertain about the cost of repairing factories, etc. We figured it would be 1 IPC per point of damage dealt to the factory, but were also uncertain if the factory can be used the same turn it is repaired.
Hope I wasn’t too vague. We’re all loving the game, just wanna make sure we’re doing it right :-)
Thank you, that actually helped a lot. We had a general idea of the subs ability to submerge unless facing destroyers, but that got a little confusing when it came to combined arms. Your comment about dice actually sorted that out. Thanks a bunch, I’m sure I’ll be back with questions about convoys, bombing, and scrambling once we play again.
Hey guys, I just got Europe 1940 2nd edition a couple days ago and had a few questions about the basic gameplay. Me and my buddy are completely new to Axis and Allies so bear with me.
1. Are units able to make a non-combat move the same turn they are bought, or do you have to wait until the next turn? I know you can’t use factories the same turn you buy them, so I figured units may have to same rule.
2. Are you able to attack a single territory from multiple territories? For example, is Germany able to attack France from every territory that borders Paris in a single attack.
3. Are you only able to carry out one attack move per turn? This is how me and my buddy played it since we weren’t sure.
4. Does attacking an undefended territory count as an attack move? Particularly if you can only attack once per turn.
We also had some hiccups with actual combat. To give an example, Italy and Britain had a naval battle near Cairo involving a battleship, destroy, and cruiser (Italy) against a carrier, destroyer, and cruiser. Do you roll all of the dice at once or match up ships based on type? (destroyer against destroyer, cruiser against cruiser, etc)
Sorry for the laundry list, but like I said it was our first time ever playing. We dug through the rulebook quite a bit, but I figured you guys might have some more useful tips. These are just a few of the many questions we ran into with the basic gameplay. We haven’t even gotten as far as amphibious assaults, convoys, and scrambling fighters, so I’m sure I’ll have more questions to come.